neuro-y stabby sub basslines

Discussion in 'Production' started by rysk, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,220
    Likes Received:
    750
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    been trying to replicate this style of bassline for ages...but can never get it to work. the synth isn't the difficult part, as it's pretty much just sub, minus a few exceptions. it's getting the groove

    i.e.

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2015
  2. alz

    alz compress to impress VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Oxford
    yeh just listen to how the sub interacts with the kick, that's what creates the groove
     
  3. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,220
    Likes Received:
    750
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    ok...i just did a sneaky youtube download, whacked it into FL and low-passed it. Can't really work out if the notes hit with the kick, or if its a sustained note sidechained to the kick
     
  4. alz

    alz compress to impress VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Oxford
    yeh the bass hits on every bar, so does the kick, but there's a lot of ghost kicks in there too, which is what is fucking you up.
     
  5. wingz

    wingz everyones fav austrian VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,311
    Likes Received:
    459
    Location:
    Austria
    if i try to sidechain my signal to a ghost (a muted drumhit) it's not activating the sidechain because the sample is muted. any idea how i can overcome that? using fl studio
     
  6. JaceWzu

    JaceWzu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    11
    You might sidechain differently to me wingz, but you can do it with Fruity Peak Controller.

    Send the kick to an insert (don't mute it) and add Peak Controller. By default it mutes the sound (bottom right) but still gets the 'signal'. If you link things to it they still get affected even if mute is turned on.
     
    wingz likes this.
  7. wingz

    wingz everyones fav austrian VIP Junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,311
    Likes Received:
    459
    Location:
    Austria
    yeah, i usually sidechain with the limiter haha
     
  8. ShirPan

    ShirPan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Cologne
    @wingz:

    or disable all recipients of that channel you wanna mute, dont send the signal out.