need to get my mixes uploaded

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by higgy, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. higgy

    higgy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    cant find anything so i can record my mixes and to get them up on here help
     
  2. $marty

    $marty Dexcell Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18,697
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Location:
    Watford
  3. higgy

    higgy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    what about recording to the laptop
     
  4. OCR

    OCR SB

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Malmo
    Audacity dude :)
     
  5. higgy

    higgy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    thats the thing got that but when i save the mix it goes all crazy on me when i open the saved file
     
  6. KEMZ

    KEMZ Blatant Royal Status

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    do you have any sequecing software, like ableton, cuebase?

    if so, record your mix to audacity as a big WAV file - Save in folder -

    open this up in your sequencer, get the volumes / eq going good then burn down to an MP3 of your chosen quality

    if you dont have a sequencer im sure you can just make a huge mp3 in audacity when you 'Export' it??
     
  7. justin_credible

    justin_credible Lurker

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,496
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    cambridge
    ^^^ best way of doing things. Make sure you leave lots of headroom when recording. I spent 2 hours recording a mamoth mix lastnite then realised it was over 0dB, so it sounded fucked. Better to record quiet then pump it up in ableton then recording too loud, as you leave yourself no-where to go.
     
  8. emy

    emy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had some problems with Audacity so I got Soundforge then WinLame downloaded to convert to mp3

    Another question, I noticed that some peoples mixes in the mix section are only about 20MB or so for 30 minutes...Mine are around 40MB. Think I converted at a rate of 128 as I thought any lower than this would affect the quality. It is just I would like to upload a longer mix so this would be even more MBs
     
  9. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    i need to record a mix but i hate having to mix really quiet :(
     
  10. hazard135§

    hazard135§ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    If you just have the volume of the specific channels at around 6/7 (depending on your soundcard) you can have the master and the volume on the speakers as lound as you want
     
  11. DJHaze

    DJHaze I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham
    i think hre meant he has to mix quiet due to the waking up of other members in his household. not because he cant turn a knob on his mixer.
     
  12. aladdin sane

    aladdin sane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    right behind you
    i now use adobe audition to record mine, had loads of problems with audacity for some reason. Auditions cool it gives you a big waveform and level meters as you're recording so you can check levels then lets you normalise and amplify/reduce and generally fuck about with the recording once youve finished the mix, plus it lets you save as .wav or mp3 or whatever you want without other software :2thumbs:
     
  13. hazard135§

    hazard135§ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    ma bad...wasnt tryin 2 say he's an idiot or anything...just some ppl have problems with recording and distortion
     
  14. justin_credible

    justin_credible Lurker

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,496
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    cambridge
    Thats the new cool edit isnt it? That was one of my fav. pieces of software, so simple! All about ableton for me tho now when it comes to editing. Cool edit is a little destructive for my liking.
     
  15. aladdin sane

    aladdin sane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    right behind you
    think so yeah, can be pretty destructive but i only ever really record,normalise and some times add track markers.
    its a nice program to use for single tunes as well because its so simple to save as a wav or 320 or whatever and you can get an knackered old 33 sounding awesome. the multi track is pretty useful too

    whats the big deal with ableton then? i use it now and again for mixing but nothing else really. might give it a try, what versions it on now? think ive got 5 or 6?
     
  16. subzero.

    subzero. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    you shouldnt have to many problems with audacity, im usually plug and play with it. maybe try reinstalling it to see if it fixes your problem.
     
  17. DJ Wizz

    DJ Wizz Bless, Union, Force FM

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Pro Tools 8 FTW!!!

    Mastering plug ins that come bundled can reli give u a beefy sound, and because u can edit the audio waveform directly aswell using Audio Suite then you can get you mix sounding sweet even if u may have raised the levels at one point and brought them down in another.

    I hate it when im listening to a mix and u get a switch where the next tune is alot quieter than the last. its lazy mastering reli cos obviously some records just have a lower signal but it doesnt take 2 secs to boost the gain or volume on that particular section so it flows in the mix!