need a new computer

Discussion in 'Production' started by MARKLAR, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
  2. subprime

    subprime Dysjoint

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    NZ
    As a brand Compaq doesn't always rate if you believe all you read, but I bought a shitty little thing years back and it's still kicking fine.

    PS: I built a desktop a couple years back and now the laptops (like this one) are just as powerful and even my mum has one still in the box that was an old age crisis buy that equals my pc and I really should see about 'borrowing' that one.
     
  3. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
    yea was lookin at spec of pcs an laptops an for around same price can get laptop same as pc
    dont really have to room for desktop either altho i kinda would prefer one as i can upgrade it easier wen i need
     
  4. subprime

    subprime Dysjoint

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    NZ
    Yeah but if you wait around 4 years and are willing to spend the same money again (100 quid a year) you'll probably get your upgrade in a new lappy. That's my theory anyway, don't hold me to it.

    The only reason I wouldn't go for a lappy is for the screen size. I got a second screen for my desktop, and it was the best thing I did. Compared to all that squinting, and opening and closing windows, but it's up to you.
     
  5. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
    well ill have to save up for a few months anyway so ill have a good think about it
    also need to save cash for resaon 5 or 6 dunno if there worth saving for tho as i have reason 4
     
  6. subprime

    subprime Dysjoint

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    NZ
    Whatever you've got at the moment seems to be working pretty well anyway tbh, no hurry :pimp:
     
  7. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
    my laptop at the moment is seriously slow!lol
    most times it cuts out midtune cos too many tracks runnin
    also saw new thing on reason 6 which i want called the pulveriser some kind of distortion thing.lol
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2015
  8. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    U can get a pretty decent intel i5 desktop pc on ebay for around £350 that will blow that laptop out the water and give u the option of upgrading.

    PCs over laptops for producing any day. I got 2 20 inch monitors connected as well which solves a lot of problems as well
     
  9. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
    If your forking out I'd go for a desktop mate, spesh for producing. also i'd say build it your self, cheaper and for the same price it'll be better. it's quite simple to do as well. www.scan.co.uk