My mixer conundrum...

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by Joey AdhD, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    right i have manage to save enough wedge to get a new mixer.

    i have saved 550 golden nuggets to buy this....

    [​IMG]

    now i have the money to hand, i dont wanna let it go, and i am think of jus buyin a 300 quid DJM600 and gettin somethin else with the change,

    BUT this is the mixer i have wanted for time, it caters for all my needs,

    what would you lot do?

    answers on a post card.
     
  2. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    Just get it, if you buy the DJM600 then you will always wonder "what if?" Plus then you can tell me whether its worth buying or not :D
     
  3. thedjnifty

    thedjnifty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,266
    Likes Received:
    46
    Does that Allen & Heath mixer have THE exact same filtering system the same as the A&H Xone 92?
     
  4. Riisu

    Riisu Not the Preacher Man

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    all allen and heath filters are the same throughout whatever brand of mixer they produce.

    one thing i always bring up about this mixer and one thing you should bare in mind.
    it only has 2 phono inputs.

    other than that, you can't go wrong with a&h (y)
     
  5. Nick-ep

    Nick-ep RudeFM/In-Reach

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Watford
    Go for the Allen & Heath man. Build quality on them is amazing. Pretty sure you wont have to buy another mixer for ages.

    What were you thinkin of getting with the change?
     
  6. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    that could be a stinker, i run 3 decks ya see and 3 phono inputs would put an end to that, dunno would i would get with the 250 quid change, i vould quite possibly piss it up the wall....its the phono situation thats holding me back here.
     
  7. thedjnifty

    thedjnifty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,266
    Likes Received:
    46
    A&H has got 4 phono inputs man

    And by the looks of it the filter system is not the same as on the A&H Xone 92
     
  8. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    2 phono inputs mate....^^^^^^thats shit, that put a fuckin downer on the whole thing now, bollox, cheers for piontin that out riisu
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  9. thedjnifty

    thedjnifty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,266
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ahhh no I lie!

    Fuck man why make a 4 channel mixer with just 2 phono inputs

    I was well interested in this mixer until I realised

    I've got a DJM 600 and IMO you can't really go wrong with it, within that kind of price range
     
  10. moriaty

    moriaty Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,464
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    between a low hum and a high whine
    tuff one, aint it ?
    id say go for the pioneer. as you said, they come at round 300 nowadays, and they keep their value too. you could sell it in the next couple of years for pretty much the same money. the same doesnt apply with the A&H. then again their filter is sooo nice.
    what to do what to do...
     
  11. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    Riisu right it only has 2 phono inputs
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Nick-ep

    Nick-ep RudeFM/In-Reach

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Watford
    Why would they do that? Surley gunna loose sales for making it with 2 phono inputs.
     
  13. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    that whole input shite has done my nut in, thats gay...cheers for pointin it out, what to do what to do, there are Xone 62's on ebay for 30 quid more... might be able to stretch to that, but this mixer is shexshy and i need it in my life.
     
  14. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    I think its because if the offered all the same specs as the 92 then nobody would buy one they would go for this instead
     
  15. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    there must be away round this tho, maybe get a preamp and put the third deck through that and into one of the line in inputs
     
  16. thedjnifty

    thedjnifty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,266
    Likes Received:
    46
    ... have fun lol

    Sorry, that just sounds far too long and unreliable to me man
     
  17. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    this is on ebay for 5 ton, might go for this, but i want the 42, what a stupid design fault.
     
  18. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    it would take 2 seconds and its not like he will be redoing it everytime he uses them is it? An I doubt it would cause any kind of delay unless you use some long ass wires. and how exactly would it be unreliable???
     
  19. Riisu

    Riisu Not the Preacher Man

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    don't go pioneer IMO. after using a&h i'm completely fed up of my djm600. and would get rid of it without a seconds thought if i had the cash lying about.

    get a second hand 62/92 on ebay? that's what i'd suggest or do.... you can pick up one for around that price easy..... or just save a little long and get a brand new 92.

    EDIT - i think you can get line > phono converters that just plug into the inputs at the back. dustek mentioned this some time ago....
     
  20. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    i dont think i understand what ya mean scotty but i am intregued, enlighten me.