My laptop has died

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by DJ COSHH, Dec 9, 2007.

  1. DJ COSHH

    DJ COSHH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Southampton
    As you may of noticed my output of late has been a little thin on the ground, this is not due to me loosin my passion or mixing any less, but, because my laptop has a serious hardware fault :( .. im a sendin it bak as we speak... In the mean time I have jst recorded a mix on DAT, using both sides.. I have chucked it into the wave editor and seamlessly electronicly cellotaped the halfs together :teeth:... i am uploadin as we speak... Quality of course is not on par with directly recordin to my laptop, but is good none the less... my only grip was it is in mono ... but meh, I need to post mixes lool.

    :jackson:
     
  2. SIRUS

    SIRUS 変なひと

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    877
    fix it, sell it and get a Mac.
    far, far superior computers.
     
  3. DJ COSHH

    DJ COSHH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Southampton
    who says it's not a mac =P ....

    It's not a mac though lol :D
     
  4. SIRUS

    SIRUS 変なひと

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    877
    you could have had me there :D
    cant you find a decent prog to change to stereo, as you're still posting on a 'puter?
     
  5. DJ COSHH

    DJ COSHH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Southampton
    yeah it's in stereo know... but the original recording was in mono.. When I saved to mp3 i put it in stereo.. but surely the quality is reduced slightly :|
     
  6. DJ COSHH

    DJ COSHH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Southampton
  7. SIRUS

    SIRUS 変なひと

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    877
    dunno, i have been meaning to download one of your mixes lately, so i'll try it against an older one to spot the diff, and i'll tell ya later.
    cheers bud!
     
  8. DJ COSHH

    DJ COSHH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Southampton
    :teeth: enjoy.. I have listened, and only notice a few points where volume drops very slightly for like a second.... prolly less, maybe crease in the tape or sumthing.. but quality wise I think it fine :D
     
  9. jay walker

    jay walker 1/2 of Passive/Aggressive

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,889
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    between a rock and a hard place, Hants
    I love macs, ive worked with them most of my professional career, but when my ibook g4 crashed a couple of months ago, it was gonna cost nearly 500 booey to fix it, so i can sympathise with you dude, youre savvy enough to chop up a tape mix, i just suffered in silence.

    Big set/s at breakneck btw geez :jackson:
     
  10. beach!

    beach! The Unclean - Pro Leecher

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Posterville
    Macs may be the best but they crash and burn as well!... I cant get over the no right click bizzle!...
     
  11. Bad Ace

    Bad Ace Close2Death

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Hants, uk
    i bet it was a sony vaio (n)
     
  12. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    if its in mono it wont be a lower quality, it will just lack any stereo spaceyness (tech word!!)

    most dnb is pretty much in mono anyway so it shouldnt matter that much anyway ;)
     
  13. AuGsY

    AuGsY DJ apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    what kind of cable were you using to hook up your mixer to your laptop coshh?
     
  14. DJ COSHH

    DJ COSHH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Southampton
    It was a usb audio interface which connected from my mixer by phono cables and to my pc via the usb port.
     
  15. AuGsY

    AuGsY DJ apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    tru, i was using just regular red and white audio cables but i found the quality wasnt that great at all. So i just bought a soundcard for my computer that accepts digital coax hopefully this will help....
     
  16. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    all i got is a shitty aux lead.
    the quality is bad!:cry: