Drum & Bass Mono drums, bass etc

Discussion in 'Production' started by Syn, May 3, 2015.

1. Syn

Syn Aka Barrier

Hi all, newbie here

Been watching a few tutorials on beat production recently & it has been mentioned on a few of them to use mono kick drums to give more presence.. saying that stereo imaging can mess up things. Is this true? Also using your sub bass as a mono signal? What's the advantages and disadvantages to using mono over stereo signals in your track & do any of you use these techniques? Many thanks

2. Solace

Solace Active Member

Yea its a must to mono everything below 300hz
    those frequencies need to be in the middle field, giving the thump to the song. when a sub/kick moves from sides to side, or is very wide, it just loses that.

This really needs to become a habit. Every sub and kick, instantly mono.
    There are also some useful plugins that do this. I use the ozone stereo imager: below 300hz full mono, then gradually more and more stereo

Alert likes this.
  3. Syn

Syn Aka Barrier

Thanks mate, i will look at them plug ins nice one

4. Syn

Syn Aka Barrier

Also with the sound being mono, which speaker does it output from?

5. Solace

Solace Active Member

Yea ozone my go to plugin to trow on my master.

And because it's mono, it'll come equally loud from both speakers, that the whole point of putting it mono.

6. Syn

Syn Aka Barrier

Sound advice mate

7. Mania

Mania i fukin wot m8

Its not a must to mono everything below 300hz, you can get some nice width and fatness down there, i'd say bout 100hz works for me the best. The whole point of monoing isnt to make stuff the same volume both channel, unless you have some kind of panning thing a wide sound would likely be the same volume both speakers anyway, its just to put something dead center in the stereo image, which sound good for a lot of drums.