Mixing heavier dnb

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by DNBMAN12345, Jul 3, 2008.

1. DNBMAN12345

DNBMAN12345 Member

Hi,

I find it harder to mix heavier dnb like neurofunk/techstep etc.. because the drum patterns are completely different.
    With most liquidfunk and stuff I listen to, you've got a simple amen break and you can use the (hi hat or snare? not sure which one it's called lol - it's in the hi's range) to tell if you're too fast or slow because it comes at the same time in each bar, but with heavier dnb it's all over the place.

What do you guys do? Just mix in the parts with no beat or what?
    Oh, and when there's a dj set that is back to back, how does that work? Does 1 dj mix and 1 scratch, or both mix or what?

Thanks,
    dnbman

2. efil4ssab

efil4ssab Skematix DJ

im no pro (hell i can barely keep a mix together) but just listen to your tracks religiously and practice practice practice. someday it will hit you and you'll be able to mix anything into anything.... within reason yeah?

3. Sammy_Dodger

Sammy_Dodger Mr Ed

Just concentrate on the first beat of every bar rather than the tune...its easy to get to into the tune (with parts not being on beat).

4. Dustek

Dustek Finished the PhD

Liquid funk doesn't have amens...

You know what an amen is don't you?

5. RocksteadyUK

RocksteadyUK SkimoBeats