mind of its own..

Discussion in 'Production' started by mikeOO1, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    BTW im uing fl studio at the moment. So i just got some vairous samples after a short sample hunt, saved them directly into one of my sample tabs within the browser, I draged the sample into the playlist to check/anylize it out and its only saved a fraction of the sample??! wtf. and when you click one of the samples (the very most recent) its saying "access violation at adress bla bla bla .dll" its a free sample given to producers tho.

    I did change a short number of settings to help my cpu in fruity a while ago but at the time that never seemed to affect it at all.(well, apart from helping cpu:D)

    Does anyone know whats going on? ?

    And latley fruity has been a bastard to me by crashing around two times on me! Too many samples and existing projects affecting my beloved fruity perhaps?

    Im stumped, hope your not.:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2009
  2. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm on closer inspection ive realized that the culprate files are dot AIFF. Should'nt they run properly in fl?
     
  3. MuttleyDubs

    MuttleyDubs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    BRIZZLE
    no idea on the sample problem, but are you using massive when it crashes?
     
  4. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah massive. I think it has once or twice mate, but when it did it was during the initial load up. Ive only been experiencing some problems in the last few days, dunno whats going on really.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2009
  5. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    You have a legal version of massive?
     
  6. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a major diffrence between the two? I think the massive problem was a one off, its the sample thing thats got me.

    Im gonna try and get an aiff ---> wav converter next and see if that works out. I hope it works cos the sample is awesome.
     
  7. JAGZ

    JAGZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    41
    erm.....maybe.....maybe not ;)
     
  8. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nicely put.:D. massive is fine now tho, just the sample thing...
    I cant work out why it didnt save the whole sample, i mean its only about 10 secs long but only saved 2 secs worth.
     
  9. JAGZ

    JAGZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    41
    wav is only audio i work/play with cant go wrong with it really, i think every daw accepts it.
     
  10. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah wav is the best man, but this sample is in aiff format.
    IF my comp cold save the whole sample i could easily convert it to wav cuz i dont think fruity supports aiff format? i'll check it out now.
     
  11. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    can you open the sample in media player or quicktime ok??

    the sample may be corrupted, in which case try downloading it again
     
  12. Dan M

    Dan M hard gay northern bear

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    YORKSHIRE
    if your FL or Massive are cracked then theres your ansa.
     
  13. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Yeah its surprising really how many problems you can avoid by using legit software.
     
  14. JAGZ

    JAGZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    41
    yeah its surprising how many people cant afford to pay for the software and will be happy to learn on knock off gear until they can with the knowing that it can go wrong from time to time ;)
     
  15. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont think we should discuss cracked software, although lots of applications are perfectly legal to use as long as you dont make any £ off it, try before you buy kinda thing. Im thinking of getting cubase or pro tools(worth the cash imo), ive had my mind set on cubase for a while but pro tools looks astonishing, almost every proffesional mastering suite seems to use it which makes me think its right up there or even the best... doesnt mean it is tho.



    @ marlztah. yeah that could work i hadnt thought of that one.
    i could proberbly just drag it out of itunes and into the editor, for some reason with certain samples my comp chooses itunes as a default place to play them.

    Thanks for the responses on this one peeps.
     
  16. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Fair enough, I've haid a fair share of mystical error messages haha!

    To be honest, I haven't bought massive (yet I've used it in the past!). But the copy protection it has means that I will be getting it at some point. I've been out of work lately though so anything new for me is a big no-no. Damn this recession...

    And on the AIFF note, I for one don't have any quicktime or other apple decoders but can still play the samples alright in soundforge...

    Some sites combined with old versions of web browsers can do that, I remember trying to d/l a patch to some game years ago and it reported the download as finished but i kept getting a CRC error. Then I kept an eye on the download status bar and it jumped from 20-40% to finished... Some kind of server error I think. Long story short: Try downloading again or updating browser.