Matching vocals over track

Discussion in 'Production' started by Welsh Junglist, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales
    I've got myself a few acapellas but a lot of them are from house tracks that are around 140bpm, I just wondering if anyone has got any tips on matching them to a 174-6bpm track. I've tried speeding it up and slowing it down but that don't work cause it ruins the vocals. Is there a good way to do it or anything? Thanks everyone.
     
  2. JAGZ

    JAGZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    41
    sony acid pro >
    insert the accapella >
    right click channel select 'properties' >
    right click the file in the window thats opened & select 'clip properties' >
    general > ACID type > beatmapped
    stretch > select 'beatmapper wizard'

    once youve done your beat matching the bpm on acid should change to whatever youve made it on the beatmapper wizard > switch the bpm up to your choice the audio will do the same > to get the squeaky voice away > get back into the clip properties and theres an option that says 'preserve pitch when changed' un tick the box and listen again.

    hope that helps man
    pm for acid ;)
     
  3. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    what DAW do you use man?
     
  4. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales
  5. JAGZ

    JAGZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    41
    digital audio workstation

    cubase, fruity loops, reason etc....
     
  6. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales
    ahh rite, I'm using reason 4 atm like
     
  7. JAGZ

    JAGZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    41
    isnt there a loop sampler intrument/box/thing that you can add audio and set the tempo n shit?
    i thinks reason is not the best daw for editing audio mofo
     
  8. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales
    prolly the nn-xt sampler, I've tried uppin the pitch but it makes it sound like scouse house shiz, I'l have a fiddle round with it I'm sure there will be a tempo somewhere. If not I'l pm you for that *legit* copy of acid pro ;)
     
  9. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    reason eh, i know of a good video explaining how to do it in fl studio but not reason. have a look on youtube mate, type in reason 4 accapella tutorial or sumin like that.:)
     
  10. JAGZ

    JAGZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    41
    no probz
     
  11. imanc

    imanc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    take a look at this one if you haven't seen it already:
    http://vimeo.com/1606181 - Vocal chopping tips with Danny Byrd (found it in another thread)
    Dunno if this is what you need, but it's about vocals :D
    He uses ReCycle however which is not the cheapest piece of sw around.
     
  12. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    how is this acheived in fruity?
     
  13. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales
    Ain't got a clue mate sorry, I ain't used it ever. Try searching for some tutorials on youtube or make a new thread about it, I think quite a few people use fruity on here, someone probably know how to do it.
     
  14. cycloneuk

    cycloneuk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    If you pitch the vocals to fit in with the track they will go out of key. The best way round it is to chop it up into individual words so that they start on bars/phrasses on your sequencer. This is a very time consuming proccess though...
     
  15. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    What a load of bollocks. Every sound editing program worth its salt has an option that preserves key (pitch) while stretching time. So your 140 house vocal -> 174 dnb vocal without it turning shite.

    I'm sure this is in Reason as well.
     
  16. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales
    Yeh, I was asking how to do it in Reason Dustek. The only way I was doing it was using the pitch switch, that's why it was sounding shite. I don't know how to change the tempo in Reason that's why I was asking.
     
  17. JamesZero

    JamesZero aka Zero Beats

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    South London
  18. defg975

    defg975 I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Important note for your security

    Be a Professional Game Shop ,we sincerelywow goldhope all of our Customers can have a smooth and secure transaction with us , so please keep in mind after you made an order from usgold: Don't tell your char name or password to anyone except our supporters keep your computer away from keylogs. And make surewow goldthere is no one by your side when you arewow goldbuying GP at our site.