Massive filter routing question

Discussion in 'Production' started by mistasfx, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    Bit of a noobish thing to ask but....

    just say on filter one i have a scream filter or some other filter but on filter two i want to put a low pass or high pass to control the whole sound with a LFO how do i do it??

    I currently have a bad ass sound but cannot produce a wobble on filter one that i want so i wanna control it with filter two but just cant
     
  2. Prideinyouride

    Prideinyouride Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    15
    If you want to control the whole sound then you need to allocate the LFO to the amp/intensity nobs on the oscillator tabs.
     
  3. Prideinyouride

    Prideinyouride Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    15
    ^forget that I read your post wrong
     
  4. Tone1304

    Tone1304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southend-on-sea
    I had exactly the same problem so I just used filter 1 as normal then used a separate auto filter for the low pass, I know the auto filter in logic and ableton have the ability to "wobble" the cutoff but I'm not sure about other daw built in ones you might have to draw the automation in your self hope this helps
     
  5. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    In other synths id just use the mod matrix but massive aint got one
     
  6. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    One of the main flaws of Massive IMO!

    FM8 on the other hand!........:)
     
  7. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    So no way to assign filter 2 as my main movement filterr?
     
  8. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    you can, but then you lose the movement or sound from filter A. It's like you can use filter 1 or 2 and thats it, or you can use a combination of the two, but as far as I'm aware you cant route filter 1 through filter 2
     
  9. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    i have no movement on filter one at all. its just a nice sound but i also cant get it to wobble with a lfo either so this is why i NEED a mod matrix so badly.

    What were they thinking not including one?
     
  10. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    anotehr problem with massive,

    why cannot i seem to layer it with sub off another synth? it never matches up in tune arrghghghgh
     
  11. Tone1304

    Tone1304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southend-on-sea
    I know it might sound stupid but its an easy mistake once I had a synth on massive that I set one of the oscillators to -7 by accident and my sub was at -12 so maybe its that or the global tuning
     
  12. Balthazaar

    Balthazaar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    24
    Hmm if i understanded correctly all you have to do is set up mix knob all the way down, and on left side where u choose serial or parallel set up all the way up,and route all oscilators to filter 1..
     
  13. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    Or you could try throwing something like Camelphat on top of your synth and control the lfo from there.

    Cant say I've ever had the issue with layering a sub tho..
     
  14. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    first thing i checked
     
  15. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    i dont want that, i want to route filter 1 through filter 2
     
  16. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    The only other option would be to insert an FX version of Massive after the initial version, and use the filter from the FX version as your 2nd filter? Might have to render to audio after depending on your cpu? I'm guessing 2 instances of massive on 1 channel is a cpu whore!
     
  17. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    That's what I think too, if you route all oscillators to F1 and put them in serial mode, then everything that comes out F1 goes to F2. If OP means to get the WHOLE sound as in after all the synths effects and such, then just get a filter from your DAW and add it to effect chain, simple as.
     
  18. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    884
    Location:
    BH1
    Yeh surely just set the filters to work in serial..? Meaning one after another.
     
  19. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    Ive never worked aa filter in serial as always had the ability to use a mod matrix. Will try
     
  20. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    Ive never worked aa filter in serial as always had the ability to use a mod matrix. Will try