Logic - CPU after fx/compression etc

Discussion in 'Production' started by SENATE, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. SENATE

    SENATE Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all, good morning!

    April fools day today.

    Serious question however.

    So Im using reason and logic on mac and more often than not i get system overload message and have to turn it off and do something else, which isn't always what i want.

    I used parallel compression on drums n logic, so 2 mixer channels etc and sounds a lot louder.

    My questions is, to save CPU - can i export say 8 bars of compressed drums (kick/snare no hats) and re sample back into the sampler in Logic? will they be parallel compressed? (no?!) as now only one channel on logic would be used as audio of my drums (this is to save cpu so i can actually use logic)
    Or two new channels on the sampler of separately exported (parallel compressed) re sampled audio..

    Cheers fellas!
     
  2. JimpaDirt

    JimpaDirt Vettvilling

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    A galaxy far, far away
    It will be if you bounce it out as you would with the complete track (File > Bounce, and then choose location and that stuff). However if you where to just rightclick and use the bounce in place function it doesn't bounce with the buses.

    So yeah, it can be done! :)
     
  3. SENATE

    SENATE Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Good news! thoughts are right.

    Trouble with resolving cpu issues is one thing, making a tune is afterthought sometimes ;P

    Cheers!
     
  4. Mania

    Mania i fukin wot m8

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, AUS
    LP9, or just an old mac? or both? But yeah bouncing in place does the job. if youre running LPX, just freeze tracks
     
  5. Eternaloptimist

    Eternaloptimist Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    118
    you can freeze tracks in lp9 as well
     
  6. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    884
    Location:
    BH1
    BIP doesnt include busses tho as Jimpa said. just to avoid confusion