Line inputs on mixers

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by DJNitrousUK, Nov 2, 2008.

  1. DJNitrousUK

    DJNitrousUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2008
  2. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,060
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    Yeh you can plug cdj's into a line in. My mixer only has line in an phono, an I've ran cd decks through it before.
     
  3. DJNitrousUK

    DJNitrousUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Cheers man, much appreciated.
     
  4. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    so metaphorically a 2 channel mixer is a 4 channel mixer?
     
  5. Chaz D

    Chaz D Prod/DJ/Sound Engineer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hatfield
    i have the hd215s and there fucking lush mate! well worth the money!
    don't know much about those kam cd decks.
    i think your better off going for some pioneer ones.
     
  6. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
  7. DJNitrousUK

    DJNitrousUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Cheers guys.

    I aint rich fool! :D
     
  8. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,060
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    huh?

    Each channel has two inputs, you can switch between them, but you can only use one on each channel at a time.
     
  9. robhicks1

    robhicks1 Nuts about Zoo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Southampton
    Yes.... but all this means is you can put four 'items' into the mixer. However, you cant mix all channels at once like a proper four channel mixer as you have to switch between line and phono.

    So Nitrous if your looking to do three deck mixing you will need a three channel mixer too unless you already have one.

    In answer to your original question. Analouge things such as turntables go into phono inputs and digital things go into line inputs. Obviously digital turntables such as Numark ttx can go into both line and phono inputs.
     
  10. DJNitrousUK

    DJNitrousUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Yeah man I only just realised that before I read your post. Dammit, I will have to spend more monies :( Lol.
     
  11. robhicks1

    robhicks1 Nuts about Zoo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Southampton
    As for the headphones. I use Senheiser headphones and they are amazing. They are such a specialist company in that area and you can't really go wrong with them. Also my uni uses them to test patients with in the audiology department.
    So as long as they are aimed at DJ'S you can't go far wrong with them.

    I know very little about CD decks though and have only used Pioneer ones so can't offer specific advice, however, it is much easier to make a cheap CD deck that has accurate pitch control compared to a cheap turntable due to them being completely digital.
    So as long as it has full jog wheel control etc it should be ok to mix with.
     
  12. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,060
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    If your gettin a cd deck I would recomend the Numark Axis 9 more expensive but it wont break easily, and there will be no reason to upgrade, as it has practicly every function you will ever need, apart from key lock
     
  13. DJNitrousUK

    DJNitrousUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    I was looking at that mate, cheers.
     
  14. Riisu

    Riisu Not the Preacher Man

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    failing that, nu mark axis 4 are pretty decent. missing a few features, granted. but if you just want something to play tunes through, and get to grips with using a cdj (which isn't hard in all fairness) it's fine.
    all i do i just pitch ride on it. and if i need any fine adjustments, just use the pitch bend buttons or the wheel.

    only thing that's missing is being able to skip within the track to a specific point. hard to explain, but it's a pain sometimes.
    although i just don't bother.
    just set the track running from the start point. all you need to do is know your tracks and it's a breeze!
     
  15. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    except u can only have 2 channels runnin at once
     
  16. DJNitrousUK

    DJNitrousUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Cheers man, I know what you mean, you can't fast forward tracks. So you better hope you've got time to bring it in for that D-Drop!
     
  17. Riisu

    Riisu Not the Preacher Man

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    wellllll, you can fast forward them. but it's really not accurate.
    not as accurate as say the pioneer cdj800s/1000s where the platter can act exactly the same as the vinyl. where you can just spin through it to the place you want.

    on the axis 4 you've got a little knob which isn't disimilar to skipping through the track if it were in a cd player... it's hit and miss. i just don't tend to bother.

    i kinda like playing it all out from the start tho, gives loads of time to get it proper locked in and can make for some interesting 3 deck business :)
     
  18. slimbo011

    slimbo011 I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucester
    dont you click down the little knob and use the jog wheel to search on the axis 4? :confused:
     
  19. Kibon

    Kibon Blaze It Down !

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Belgium , Genk
    but isn't there a lot of difference in quality between the two inputs ? is it by example possible to first do a mix between two turntables and then switch to the cdj in a set ?
     
  20. Riisu

    Riisu Not the Preacher Man

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    haven't you just answered your own question?