"Let the music flow!"

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by JSDNB, Apr 20, 2011.

1. JSDNB

JSDNB Member

Hi all, I'm new to djing and got so much help from this community that I decided to open a new thread to request some new mixing tips.

Days ago I opened another thread about "knowing your tracks", since I thought that bar-counting and a good beatmatching were the only secrets/keys necessary to produce a good mix.
    Today I tried to doubledrop 2 tracks and I...Said hello to my new non-beatmatching & bar-counting music consciousness: that doubledrop was shit! :D ...For the first time I considered the importance of EQing.

Anyway I think this thread is about a very difficult topic: music taste.
    I already bought a bunch of mp3 that I like, but honestly I wouldn't know how to put a good mix together.

Have you got another method, maybe something more specific from the good old "practice, practice, practice!" one to help me?

Thank you very much for helping me,

JACK

2. Fallen.GeMiNi

Fallen.GeMiNi 3rd rate banger merchant

Mixing in key is the way to go. It's not a must, but since you're begginer it may help you a lot. Here's the thing: http://mixedinkey.com/HowTo.aspx If you don't want to buy it, you can always check your tunes out on chemical-records.co.uk, because they use it to analyze tunes and you can see the key and bpm count in a release info. Just don't expect tunes to go off well together just because they are produced in the same key, it's also a matter of drum patterns and so on...this also means you can mix off the key aswell, but this requires a little bit of experience and trying out at home for yourself ;)

Last edited: Apr 20, 2011
  3. Teddy

Teddy 60% Staff Member

list a few tracks that u have, if i have a couple of them, i'll find a sec and make u a vid of how i would mix them

4. Thin and crispy

Thin and crispy Active Member

mighty kind of u ted

5. ThePapa

ThePapa Suffragette City..