layered sounds?? fl5??

Discussion in 'Production' started by El Prophet, Apr 24, 2006.

  1. El Prophet

    El Prophet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    when it comes to layering sounds for bass's do you just copy the patch and then use the parametric EQ to set the frequency can some one plz plz plz plz plz plz tell me how to go about layering sounds

    iv got a phat sound in the dx10 that i think would make a really good sub bass:) but i dont know hot to go about making it into a sub :-x :-x :-x :-x :-x :-x :-x :-x :-x :-x ...........................................................................................................................:-x
     
  2. sdm

    sdm This is Dog Fort

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,758
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'd probably use a filter to low/hi pass a sound.

    Try the FL Free Filter for starters.

    Oh, just clone the channel to make a copy :)
     
  3. El Prophet

    El Prophet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    so do i clone a channel and keep all the preset settings the same, people go on about setting one layer at low frequencies and another layer at high frequencies...how do i set the frequencies and why do you apply a filter or lowpass filter

    people can tell me do this or do that but i have to understand why you have to do this or that....

    like you have to learn the alphabet to be able to spell
     
  4. sdm

    sdm This is Dog Fort

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,758
    Likes Received:
    17
    Well you've just answered the question yourself.

    You apply a (hi or low pass) filter to keep or cut either the hi or low frequencies of a sound or synth.

    One channel would have have a hi pass on it, starting from say 200Hz, the other would have a low pass filter on it, cutting from 200Hz downwards.

    The best thing you can do is try it (y)
     
  5. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    a sub needs no layering mate. layering is very useful when youre looking to add character to a bass. say you have a nice gritty distorted bass stab. but its lacking sub and the mids are interefering with the drums. take two copies of the same sample, lowpass one and high pass the other, layer and thats basically the jist of it. heres a good thread on the subject

    http://dnbforum.com/showthread.php?t=19505
     
  6. El Prophet

    El Prophet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    when were talking about subs we are talking about super sharp shooter style bass aint we or taxman style...that sort of air inflated bass:monkey:
     
  7. Serum

    Serum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,090
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    London
    super sharp shooter bass is just one sample

    taxman style bass is different, you can layer a sub with another sound or you can just make the one sound fat enough
     
  8. El Prophet

    El Prophet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    so its possible for me to just find a bass in one synth and it could be good enough to use as at is, can someone tell some more cool fx and methods of making and tweaking bass's and what is a sub then?:monkey:
     
  9. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    would have to be a fantastical super synth with a cape with a big 'S' hangin out the claviature and the ability to make coffe as well as holographic projections, (i.e nordlead or virus) but yeah its possible.
    which taxman do you mean, the tune or the artist?
     
  10. Dj_Fozzybear

    Dj_Fozzybear Greenpiece Records

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Basically, the sub is the power of the bass with no mids or tops. I.e. if you take your dx10 sound, low pass filter it down to 150 hz-200hz (as SDM said) that will leave you with sub and nothing else.
    the point about eqing separate elements so tighly is to do with the Nyquist Principle.
    click here to read about it or just google it
    :gslayer:
     
  11. El Prophet

    El Prophet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was talkin about taxman as in the producer

    whats nordlead and virus

    and thanx u lot im gettin there slowly but surely
     
  12. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Another nitty cool thing in fruity when you can create those layer channels. You set children to the channel and when you trigger the layer channel, all the children samples play at the same time.
     
  13. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    and you can map the layer like soundfont! neato!!
     
  14. El Prophet

    El Prophet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    what do you mean??????:monkey:
     
  15. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    add 3 samples, say kick, hi and snare.
    add 'layer'.
    set layerchildren and click the box that says something about something i cant remember what. but thatll put kick on c5, hi on c#5 and snare on d5, instead of all samples on one channel. highly functional!
     
  16. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    You can tweak the individual samples pitch, ADSR and all but i still recommend a vst sampler or even better, an outboard sampler. Assign them on different fx channels and bus them into one light compressor and you got some pretty powerful layering under one press of a keyboard.