Izotope Iris thougts

Discussion in 'Production' started by Sulihin, May 15, 2013.

  1. Sulihin

    Sulihin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Lutz, Florida, United States
    Izotope has a 30% off sale on Iris for the next week or so and I'm in the mood to get myself something. I grabbed the demo but I'm not really all that good at resampling. Does anyone have an opinion on it's usefulness?

    I'm really envious of what I've seen Seamless and others do with Harmour and resampling to make sick neuro basses but since I produce on a Mac that isn't currently an option.

    I mostly use Zebra2 in Ableton with Ubhik and Fabfilter Volcano an Saturn on top of stock Ableton effects these days, if that matters in any way.
     
  2. Jake Summers

    Jake Summers New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK.
    I have no experience with Iris but look into what Sampler's have the most readily available packs for them before deciding.

    You don't want to buy something which is limited to a small handful of sample patches..

    - - - Updated - - -

    Sorry didn't grasp your first post lol

    If it's re-sampling you want to get into do you really need another Sampler? Why not use Ableton's built in plugins?
     
  3. MisterApe

    MisterApe 8bit junkie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Fortress Europa
    Iris isnt the best option for resampling reeses, you can do it, but kontakt would be a better idea.

    Now what it can do is take a sound, let you mangle it into something very disturbing sounding by cutting out specific frequencies and mangling them into oblivion :D.
     
  4. Dugg Funnie

    Dugg Funnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    238
    I'd say save up another few weeks and get Absynth lol
     
  5. Sulihin

    Sulihin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Lutz, Florida, United States
    Thanks for the feedback!

    I guess I'm wanting a new thing to be a magic bullet and I really just need to stick with learning how to use what I've got usefully.
     
  6. Sixth Sense

    Sixth Sense Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    I'm running Logic on mac as well and I'm absolutely GUTTED that harmor is not supported!!!

    Image-line... Sort this out please!!!
     
  7. j3ll0

    j3ll0 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Iris and only use it for background noise. It is not really good for sampling the way I think you are mentioning to use it...you can chop sounds in a really interesting way and add cool noises and sounds to it.