it router knowledge people

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by MARKLAR, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    how can u find out ur wpa2 code??
    is that the long code?
    my bro set up the router ages ago an he dont live here anymore an my xbox connection has been a cunt an i need to find out the code to connect again
     
  2. Monkey spasm

    Monkey spasm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    What the fooks an it?
     
  3. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    i.t u no computers an shit
     
  4. DJ Spliff

    DJ Spliff Never Enuff Vinyl

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,171
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    any set up info on your computer?
     
  5. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    um dunno how would i check?
     
  6. DJ Spliff

    DJ Spliff Never Enuff Vinyl

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,171
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Any icons on your desktop say router login or set up? Try typing in 'router' in start/search in the bottom left -hand corner of your computer.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2010
  7. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    London
    You can reset the router, usually a button sumwhere for it, might be in a hole n need a pin to press it, look up the router name/serial on the manufacturs website to find out the default settings
     
  8. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    haha na nuffin like that my bro set it up on his laptop
    guess ill just av to ask him no xbox for me tonite!

    ---------- Post added at 21:04 ---------- Previous post was at 20:57 ----------

    ill only do that if i cant get the code off my brother
     
  9. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    got a bt homehub by any chance? look on the sticker on the back if you do..

    if not theres some code you need to write into your web browser to get it depending on model i think, just google it mate i did it ages ago so cant realyl remember
     
  10. dnbkingz

    dnbkingz bollocks

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,766
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Usually the code will be on the router itself on a sticker afaik.
     
  11. Naib

    Naib Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brum - UK
    If you have physical access to the router there is usually 2 ways to reset/reconfigure

    #1 a reset pinhole
    #2 connecting via ethernet/CAT5 and jacking in hardwire
     
  12. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    i can remember a few keys that it mite be but is a wpa2 key a long code or one u set urself
    cos i remember it was a really long code i had to type in ages ago

    ---------- Post added at 22:31 ---------- Previous post was at 22:29 ----------

    never mind i managed to crack it!
    i feel like a computer genius now
     
  13. JamesZero

    JamesZero aka Zero Beats

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    South London
    Click start, click run then type CMD.

    In the black box that comes up type ipconfig. You should see your IP address including a default gateway (something like 192.168.1.1). What ever it is, open web browser and type that into the address bar, it should take you to the routers config page. There maybe a password to log on to that, your bro hopefully left it as default which might be blank, 1234, 12345, admin (if none of them work google your router name and the words default password)

    Once your logged into the router you will have to look for your wireless settings and then security. It varies from router to router but it should be to hard to find.
     
  14. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    na its all good man managed to sort it
    cheers anyway