is it fruity or is it my sound card

Discussion in 'Production' started by safety, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. safety

    safety double safety

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    raglan, nz
    basically when ever i get properly stuck into a tune, using lots of plugins and effects, the tune starts skipping/jumping and just generally fucking about. is it my sound card, my computer, fruity loops or just me?
     
  2. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
    most probly fruity if ur overloadin it with plugins an shit ive herd it fucks up.
    dont take my word for it tho as i dont use fruity.
     
  3. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    your computer :) how much memory are you packin?
     
  4. safety

    safety double safety

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    raglan, nz
    good question
     
  5. Sammy Dexcell

    Sammy Dexcell Stop editing my profile Smarty!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    A place where the flowers grow
    This is a common occurance in fruity an even if u up your memory it will still crackle, it just wont crackle as soon as a pc with less memo.
    Best advice i can give is dont use so many vst's, and export things that u dont need to constantly have a vst on.
    Another tip is go to options>audio> and drag the buffer rate to the right as much as u want, mines on (260ms) but it will differ on your pc, this will make fruity seem slower, but it will last longer before it starts crackling, also turn the priority to highest.

    Peace!
     
  6. safety

    safety double safety

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    raglan, nz
    74.52GB with 13.55GB remaining. is that the problem then?
     
  7. safety

    safety double safety

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    raglan, nz
    cheers*
     
  8. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    no i mean your RAM bro.. i have 2gb in mine and it still crackles :lol: saying that though 2gb is nothing compared to alot of machines these days!
     
  9. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
    i think he meant memory as in ram an not ur hd
     
  10. Dj Dirty Pimp

    Dj Dirty Pimp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,043
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kent
    check your ram
    right click my computer, should say it there!
     
  11. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    RAM doesnt really affect how many plugs you can roll at once. It's more linked to keeping samples and audio tracks in memory for fast access instead of seeking and loading them bit by bit from the disk. It's about processor speed and your audio interface: all the signals in those reverbs and delays and compressors have to be calculated in the CPU before they come out of your speakers. A good audio interface will help in this, but for a quick solution, download and install Asio4All drivers. You will then have to set the fruity device properly, hit F10 and click Audio on left and in the Output box select the Asio4All device.
     
  12. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    another thing to try is smart disable....

    go to.... tools > macros > switch smart disable for all plugins


    now the plugins in the project will only turn on when they are needed ;)
     
  13. kenflex

    kenflex KenFlex

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    change the audio buffering and latency in your settings.
     
  14. perspective

    perspective Sex Drugs & Sausage Rolls

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    if you have some complex synths and effects chains, bounce it all to wav, you can export patterns in the same way you export a whole song