Interview: Ant TC1 on what 2010 holds for his Dispatch imprint

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by Nick-ep, Nov 24, 2009.

1. Nick-ep

Nick-ep RudeFM/In-Reach

Please introduce yourself briefly...

I'm Ant TC1, I've been DJing for the past 16 / 17 years and writing music since about 2004. I also run a record label called Dispatch Recordings as well as running a monthly night in Leeds called Momentum.

Tell us a bit about the background of Dispatch...

The idea started off in 2000 with Nos and Mark (Hidden Agenda brothers) wanting an outlet for their tunes and in 2001 it was born with the first release from the boys themselves. I started writing music for the label and helped out a lot with the artists / general running of the label. I took over more responsibility when the guys started having a family, etc.

You've had quite a busy year in terms of releases, what have been the highlights of 2009 for you?

Survival's constant excellent tunes, the Spinline 12" which I think is fantastic and signing a tune by ST Files as well as working alongside good friend DLR on a few bits.

Tell us more about the next single on Dispatch...

The Spinline 12" is the next release and includes the tracks Irreverse / Nothing More - they've both been getting played quite heavily by the likes of Marcus Intalex, Survival, Lynx, Cern, AI and Spectrasoul.

Who are your key artists?

Survival's one of the main ones really, we're good mates so it's quite easy to snap up his output (often before it's finished luckily for me) and I still think he's one of the best producers out there since hearing his early material. (I hope this blatant arse kissing gets even more of his new tunes sent my way). DLR's a good mate from Leeds and we're both working with Octane on a number of bits at the mo, it's just finding time that's a struggle.

Done any interesting collaborations recently?