In need of some guidance

Discussion in 'Production' started by Mr Fletch, Sep 26, 2009.

1. Mr Fletch

Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

I'm hoping a few of you veterans may be able to give me some pointers on a small problem I'm having.

So I'm in the process of producing a new track. Got almost all of it layed out, and I'm onto the mastering side of things. Here's where my problem occurs.

I do most of my writing, and mastering on headphones, and have never encountered this problem before. But when I listen to the track through the headphones, it sounds pretty banging, but when I play it through speakers it just doesnt have the thump, nor does it seem to gel like it does through the phones. My kicks sound a little echoey, and some melodies seem to dissapear into the mix through the speakers.

I'm pretty new to the whole thing so apologise if I'm making a noob error, but any tips would be great.

2. msmith222

msmith222 redbeard

well, i'm far from being an expert veteran. one thing i always do, from the first few bars through the final track is listen to it on multiple sound systems during multiple points in the production and adjust accordingly. at a minimum, i check progress on my monitors, my headphones, my car (with sub), my laptop speakers (yes! really! very telling. if you can get a track sounding good enough to come across accurately on laptop speakers you are really moving in the right direction), my earbuds my commute, the b&o sound system where i work, and at least one more - a friend's set up maybe.

i actually think it is very important to listen to your work on as many "sub-standard" systems as you can, since most people listen to music on systems like these (stock car stereo for example). if you can get your track to work on these kinds of setups, it will likely sound good all over.

i realize none of this helps you right now. thought i should share anyway.

3. Mr Fletch

Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

You're right......none of that helps me lol! just kidding!