In need of a little help

Discussion in 'Production' started by Mr Fletch, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    So I've recently hit a low point with music production. I'm sure you've all been there, sitting there for countless nights, hour after hour and nothing coming together. Start something, delete, rinse and repeat!

    But finally after a few weeks, something is coming together today. However, I've hit a small snag that I need some help with.......

    I've written a patch using Rob Papen's Predator and I want to put an automation on the filter cutoff. However, FL Studio only allows you to use automation clips on Fruity software and not VST plugins.

    I heard there was a way to link the filter cutoff dial to something else so I can automate but for the love of all things hairy I cannot find it.

    So if anyone knows how this is done, and can explain in simple, non technical jaargon I would be forever in your debt.

    Thanks a million!
    Fletch
     
  2. GiDriK

    GiDriK Lost in jungle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Tweak the knob u want, then click on a upper left corner and pick last tweaked parameter :wave: (Last Tweaked Parameter is now under the TOOLS menu at the top left of main FL window.

    EDIT : In FL 9 you select "Browse All Parameters" and then there will be a list of all knobs and then u just right click the one u need and create automation clip!
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2009
  3. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Well I dont know where you're looking but I cant see anything that says "last tweaked parameter". I've checked the tools drop down list, the tools menu in the piano roll, and in the step sequencer. Infact I've checked everywhere and dont see nothing like what you say.

    Thanks for your help though.

    Can anyone else shed some light on this?
     
  4. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Look for it in the VST's menu, that little plug icon on the upper left corner of the plugin.
     
  5. dafo93

    dafo93 SWITCH FUSION

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    North Wales
    I don't understand this, as automation clips have always worked on all VSTs for me.
     
  6. Sweaty Teddy

    Sweaty Teddy Nob'ed

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    59
    I also need help with this.
     
  7. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Really?? Hmm........

    I know you can automate anything that comes pre packed with FL studio, or any other vst created by imageline, made for FL. But 3rd party vst's (the likes of the Rob Papen series, Nord etc etc) you have to link to another controller. This is what I was requesting help with.
     
  8. dafo93

    dafo93 SWITCH FUSION

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    North Wales
    Nah, everything automates fine for me mate, z3ta, nexus, massive etc etc...however, the slide feature in the piano roll only works on the synths you mentioned, i.e. the ones that came pre packaged with FL. That's frustrating as hell. Don't know what's wrong sorry :\
     
  9. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Yeah I know what you mean. I'd love to be able to use the pitch slider on Z3ta. shame.

    So do you just right click on the dial you want to automate and the option is there? just like you would normally, or do you have to go a different way about it?
     
  10. GiDriK

    GiDriK Lost in jungle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    0_0

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFvdX4-Qt28
     
  11. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Ahh.....now I understand. Thanks alot.