i got a question, bit baffled

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by jimchizz, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
    alright guys, i been asked to do internet radio which is pretty effin cushty and im gonna be broadcasting from my own place. I been told I need winamp and shoutcast to do so but ive found out that neither are supported for broadcasting on a mac. Which is a bit screwing. is there a way around this or am i going to have to find a cheap ass pc laptop purely for internet radio? cheers

    J
     
  2. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    i am sure there is a win amp and shout cast download for MAC

    http://www.shoutcast.com/download

    half way down the page there is how to set up on MAC.
     
  3. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=193025
     
  4. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
    oh fairplay nice one. i thought i read earlier that it was only for listening not for broadcasting. what do i need winamp for then? or can i use itunes. im new to this, my bad haha
     
  5. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    shoutcast is a win amp add on mate, so get win amp then shoutcast you stream through win amp, shoutcast is your stream set up.
     
  6. richie_stix

    richie_stix gomby plz

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,507
    Likes Received:
    298
    **EDIT** Joey beat me to it!

    ps. glad someone found out how to broadcast on a mac!
     
  7. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
    winamp is only available on PC apparently. i should be joining the shedbass clan too boys, once i get this all geared up proper haha :thumbsup:
     
  8. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    what interface are you using bro? OSX?
     
  9. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
    yea, winamp is not supported unfortunately. there must be some way around this, i can't believe it can only be PCs which can broadcast. if there is like a cheap software alternative for the mac i dont mind forking out a few squids and that
     
  10. richie_stix

    richie_stix gomby plz

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,507
    Likes Received:
    298
    ahh... back to square one i see! i unfortunatly have to lug my desktop PC to my mates every monday, long barely even describes it!

    i managed to look out an old PC that will do the trick, going to use that... for what its worth mate, find a dirt cheap/free PC someone doesn't want anymore and use that!
     
  11. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
    mate that sounds like an absolute mission. im gonna see what ebay has to offer. laptops brand new are well cheap these days anyway, so a knocked about one should still have decent spec but be a bit cheaper really. itll only be for this sort of thing anyway and if im payin 5 bar a month to DJ its gonna cost a fortune haha
     
  12. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
    i managed to find an old laptop in my house which is good news, havent got a wireless card though, its a start though, must be able to get one of those bad boys on the cheap
     
  13. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
  14. richie_stix

    richie_stix gomby plz

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,507
    Likes Received:
    298
  15. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
  16. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    i use nicecast - you put the server details in to the prefrences, click audio in from mac press stream and your away! eassssssssssy.
     
  17. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
    im'a give that a go, cheers mate.
     
  18. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
    Alright Tongueflap i got nicecast where would i put in the server details and that?
     
  19. jimchizz

    jimchizz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bromley
    ah found it not to worry. just need to fiddle with this thing for a bit i think, cheers guys for all your help, ill let you know when im on air and you can have a listen see if the end product was worth all this hassle!
     
  20. richie_stix

    richie_stix gomby plz

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,507
    Likes Received:
    298
    off topic... but every time i read your name jimchizz, all i can think of is 'chinjizz'! :D