How to use accapellas

Discussion in 'Production' started by Marc:L, Jun 18, 2008.

  1. Marc:L

    Marc:L Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utrecht, Holland
    well i got the dancehal accapellas from the sample swap thread. Graet things in there! But how do you know the orginal bpm from the accapella? I just know how to use them in a track. I always sound like there of beat.... Can anyone explain to me how to use them the best way. Many thanks!
     
  2. dj revere

    dj revere Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have pro-tools you can use beat detective to extract tempo ! Failing that the best way (i'm told anyway) to use accapellas is to cut it up into manageable parts as it makes it easiar to get it in time ! Truth be told I've not used an accapella yet but could do with also seeing a good tutorial on one ! Try youtube, bound to be something helpful on there !
     
  3. JAGZ

    JAGZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    41
    im downloading sony acid pro 6 to the computer im at to explain how to get them accapellas rollin in time with your tracks. bk in 15minz
     
  4. anabasis

    anabasis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    chop them up in recycle; or failing that work out on what beat of the first bar they come in and keep retriggering them over a beat until you find the right tempo.
     
  5. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Feltham
    if your using fl studio load them in a slicer
     
  6. Sammy_Dodger

    Sammy_Dodger Mr Ed

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,559
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Peckham
    in fruity....you can choose an option to 'fit to loop' ...that works for me as long as its cut bang onto beat
     
  7. RocksteadyUK

    RocksteadyUK SkimoBeats

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    198
    Location:
    Peckham
    bro do it by ear..... best thing mate... that way you will get your own "swing" to the tune..... ill advise cutting up the vocal into 8 bar segments..... then get each 8 bar segment to the right tempo by ear........ not the easiest way... but you will get the most personalised sound out of it.... but if your useless a judging tempo or tempo matching then dont bother..... your better off trying to find the tempo of the original track on the net somewhere...... the accappella ill be the same tempo as the original trak....
     
  8. RocksteadyUK

    RocksteadyUK SkimoBeats

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    198
    Location:
    Peckham
    yeh from there you can fidle around with it to get it perfect.....
     
  9. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    ^^what he said^^ :thumbsup:
     
  10. Mattix

    Mattix Sub Focus anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Horsham
    Couldn't you put the audio file in a sequencing program then match it up with the click track? Failing that, blow on the sample...see what happens!

    :orly::orly::orly:
     
  11. evol4276

    evol4276 DIBBA DIBBA!!!*^@%~!

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    yea i find it easiest to chop up the sample in incriments and then stretch the samples/replace them and listen by ear

    i also like throwing in like a drum beat into the sampler where you can view the waveforms of it at that tempo, and then line up certain "hits" from the vocal to the more obvious snare/kick hits on the drums
     
  12. sampa

    sampa ShadowSniper

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pecknarm SE15
    Ableton Live has a great little function where you can "warp" samples to fit the master tempo. This will only work effectively when you extract short, say 8-16 bar, sections as obviously it's only going to be possible to process short samples to the level of accuracy you desire. If you're using re-wire then it's easy as pie to resample the vocal into cubase or reason and voila. Tweak the transpose as well - then you can play around with the "groove" or "swing" that your vocal achieves.

    Hope this helps