How to get into producing?

barnesy00

DJZeroZero
VIP Junglist
I have never done any producing but i would love to get into it, i was wondering how all the members here got into it. Also is there any good courses that i can take in the UK that will put me in the right direction?

i got into it by dj'in, got pissed off with what i was hearin and wanted to make my own! lol

Im self taught/picked up alot of stuff of fellow producer mates. One of my mates went on a course an it really shows just go to any college an see there music technology courses???

I have never done any producing but i would love to get into it, i was wondering how all the members here got into it. Also is there any good courses that i can take in the UK that will put me in the right direction?

Strictly you dont have to take classes, you can teach yourself mate. you can try diffrent demos to see what program you prefer and there are a lot of free vst's and stuff all over the net.

i got into it cos of my brother he did music tech then i just started meesin around on his programs an stuff.
gonna go do music tech this year tho.

first played this game on the psone called music which was just loops n a sequencer, quite fun. couple of years ago a mate suggested fruity loops, used that for a while and didnt get anywhere, then got a copy of reason and just rinsed it up pretty much everyday, 2 weeks ago, got my first set of decks - and now blowing ridiculous moneys on vinyl!

A friend of mine was usin' Reason, so i got a copy for myself...been self-taught, with tips here and there from people that have been doin' it longer, etc..usually just listenin' to tunes, you can kinda "study" the sound as for inspiration and ideas that can lead to other ideas, etc..I have musicians in the family, and I play the bass guitar as well, so the music side of me has always been there..just love bass/basslines so much it steered me in the direction of what I wanted to produce...pz

In your opinions: