How to get drum beat filtering in FL?

Discussion in 'Production' started by JMDJ, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. JMDJ

    JMDJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys. i've always wnated to know how to do this. Getting the drum beat to fade in gradualy. can anyone offer some FL help on this? which effect to use?

    thanks!
     
  2. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah mate, first you have to put your drums in the mixer (preferably using the layer function ie. all the drums under one tab, so you dont have loads of confusing automation clips), then right click an the channel volume corresponding to the drums, select 'create automation clip. Once youve done this go to the playlist and you should see the automation clip, then you just experiment from there.

    If you get stuck let us know man.

    this is just the tip of the iceberg mate,soon youll be making loads of automation clips for shedloads of diffrent effects or whatever really.
     
  3. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another example would be to right click the cutoff knob on the fruity free filter to gain other cool sounds.

    Any effect > right click a knob > create automation clip > bam:)
     
  4. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    also for better results than an automation clip, go to your drum loop in the sampler and go to the tab insert (thinks so) and change the effect to a x2 (sp or something)low pass and record you moving the knob. Then right click the knob and open up the event editor and in tools open up lfo.

    Sorry it's not staiughtforward but it should help P:D
     
  5. JMDJ

    JMDJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice 1. will try this out when im home.
     
  6. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Third party vst's..

    Using the methods that i posted earlier will only get you so far, eventually you will want to automate other things which arnt included in FL, you'l find you wont be able to automate third party plugs as you normally would..there is a way tho

    Open the plugin in FL, click the top left icon (drop menu), click 'make editor thumbnail'. This will send the application into the browser under the Current project > generators > *your plug* tab, now you'l see a list of all the parameters within the plug. All you do next is right click and select automation clip and your on your way.
     
  7. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Automating 3rd party plugins:

    -Tweak/touch with mouse the control you want to automate (eg. turn the knob, move the fader, whatever)
    -click "plugin options" next to the fruity wrapper header, the little picture of an electric plug
    -menu last tweaked parameter
    -create automation clip

    ease.
     
  8. JMDJ

    JMDJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks thanks!