How to bypass megavideo time limit

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by Sweaty Teddy, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. Sweaty Teddy

    Sweaty Teddy Nob'ed

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    59
    For those who use megavideo and get pissed off with the time limit.

    http://community.tvshack.net/index.php?showtopic=1639

    Firstly clear your browsers cookies, next block all cookies coming from megavideo.com:

    Go to: Tools > Options (in firefox)

    Then click "Exceptions" and block "megavideo.com" & "www.megavideo.com" (without quotes)
    (IMG:http://i37.tinypic.com/2rwb4m8.jpg)

    Method 1
    All you do is start the video playing then pause it and let it buffer all the way to the end. Then press standby on your modem (or unplug it if you don't have a standby button) and watch the movie off/line, then hit play.

    (Instead of turning off/unplugging your modem, you can also try clicking File > Work Offline in your browser. But remember to change it back when you want to load another video.)

    The obvious drawback is that you are offline but, you can do this all-day if you want to have a marathon Megavideo session without that annoying video limit.


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Method 2
    Unplug your modem from its power supply. The mailing address you have leased from your carrier will expire, as it will see that you are no longer online, and you therefore do not need an IP Address. Your IP Address currently being used will return to the pool of IPs available to use to your IP.
    Clear your cookies. This takes care of the client side monitoring being done on your machine.
    Wait 60 Seconds, then plug your modem back in. During the reinitialization of your modem, it will query your IP carrier for another IP Address from the pool of available ones, giving you a new IP Address.
    Reconnect to Megavideo by closing your browser and accessing the material again. Your cookies will be cleared, and Megavideo will have no record of your new IP Address on their server log. Enjoy another hour of uninterrupted content.

    (Method 2 won't work if you have a static IP)




    Hopefully one or the other of these methods worked for some people until Mega Video realises their stupididty and removes the limitations. (IMG:http://community.tvshack.net/style_emoticons/default/huh.gif)
     
  2. moriaty

    moriaty Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,464
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    between a low hum and a high whine
    or just download the torrent of whatever you want to watch, and begone with all this hassle..
     
  3. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    doesnt work you TIT
     
  4. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
  5. Herp_Derp

    Herp_Derp I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    or dont stream because IT IS SHIT

    so are torrents
     
  6. Sweaty Teddy

    Sweaty Teddy Nob'ed

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    59
    I mainly download films with torrents. If I want to watch a few episodes of a series can't always be bothered to use torrents so use megavideo.
     
  7. moriaty

    moriaty Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,464
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    between a low hum and a high whine
    true, but its such a pain. zshare works better i reckon
     
  8. Sweaty Teddy

    Sweaty Teddy Nob'ed

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    59
    Never used Zshare to watch vids but now I know!
     
  9. BDS

    BDS Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,224
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ye Olde England
  10. mikey-bizzle-08

    mikey-bizzle-08 WASTEMAN!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    The Midlands
    I just restart my internet and refresh my browser works a treat for me
     
  11. Cat Gas

    Cat Gas Aka Basis

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    London / Leeds
    You can open up your router setting in the run/cmd thingy then type reset
     
  12. SmallVictoriez

    SmallVictoriez Teen Pop Sensation

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston
    yup this is what I do, run/cmd -- ipconfig/release
    ipconfig/renew
     
  13. Blurr

    Blurr Wasted Selection

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    3
    RS links FTW