HOW DO YOU RECORD A MIX ON MAC?!

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by JungleFever, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    I have a mac, and have been trying to record a mix i know i have to change something because its recording it from the speakers instead of the output any one know?

    pleaseeee,

    :)
     
  2. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,775
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Location:
    STN
    you need to change the recording source, which will be either the line in or the usb codec if u have one of those usb things

    u using audacity?
     
  3. 3rd degree

    3rd degree Paedo

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aylesbury
    Unlucky
     
  4. Fortune^

    Fortune^ ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Manchester
    Generally you have you go

    System preferences > Sound > Audio Input

    There should be some text saying "use audio port for:" and a dropdown box wiht the options Sound output / Sound Input

    Obviously, you select sound input here. This is all assuming that you are recording using a phono to minijack.
     
  5. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    not rele mac's are far superior to normal computers, ye i have audacity
     
  6. JHSE23

    JHSE23 the yen

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    New Cross, London
    literally just plug in and go. As long as uve got a decent mac with the audio input jack (next to the headphone one).
     
  7. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    thanks fortune thats it, big help nice one
     
  8. 3rd degree

    3rd degree Paedo

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aylesbury
    :gaywhite:
     
  9. hazdaman100

    hazdaman100 Bum 'n Face

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Uk
    what is the best programme to use for a windows pc in peoples opinion?
     
  10. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,775
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Location:
    STN
    i used to use goldwave! looks a bit dated but its boss!
    gutted its not avaliable on mac
     
  11. hazdaman100

    hazdaman100 Bum 'n Face

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Uk
    Might check it out then bro
     
  12. odeon123

    odeon123 I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    you'll need a soundcard to find the mix to your computer. Then you simply need a fundamental software recording program. The program could be cheap to free, the soundcard could be cheap to very costly.
     
  13. Wizla

    Wizla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    soundcard isn't totally necessary, i used one for ages with my mac but if you just get a phono to jack lead can plug it right in and it sounds fine.
     
  14. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,060
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    I dissagree if you spend the amount you spent on a Mac on a laptop or pc then the laptop or pc would be miles better than the Mac.

    Macs are good but far too expensive for what you get