How do I make a dirtier bassline?

Discussion in 'Production' started by JungleFever, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    Hi
    I been using fruity for under a year..
    I use z3ta as my synth and camelphat, vintage warmer as addons..
    I been wondering how to make my bass that little bit more grimey? i was thinking maybe compression can phaten it up but hadnt had much luck..

    example:

    http://soundcloud.com/absynthdj/absynth-imagine

    anyone know what will fatten that up ^
     
  2. felun

    felun Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aotearoa NZ
    is that bass one channel? has it been lowpassed a bit? Id split it (frequency split)- low pass the sub on one channel, then add distortion and effects to the mids on another channel (bus), then bus that output to a little reverb.

    Maybe add another mid layer bus with more movement?
     
  3. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Distortion on the mids and maybe highs is key as felun said.

    Try multiple distortions too, with milder settings, filters with extreme resonance, envelope devices, amp simulations, creative vocoding etc.

    If you get close to something usable but not quite, try to switch the order of the FX around a bit.

    And if you only get a good sound with a few notes (filters or distortions messing up the sound with other notes), you can always resample what you have as wav and continue with a sample.
     
  4. ApeCat

    ApeCat Human Dubplate

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Can I send one instrument to multiple mixer channels or do I have to clone my bass?
     
  5. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    You can use sends. Send the original signal (pre FX) to another channel. Do a sharp EQ cut on the original channel, get rid of everything above, say, 400Hz. On the new send channel cut everything below 400Hz. Same way you can create a high layer too. Just cut the 1st send from above 1000Hz and the new send again, cut everything below 1000Hz. Now you have 3 layers: the low bass below 400Hz, mids 400-1000Hz and highs above 1000Hz.

    In FLStudio there's a plugin called 'Fruity Send' which works like normal send but you can play with the order of the fx so you can choose the send point between the FX, like after a filter but before a distortion so you can control the whole 3 layers with 1 filter... It's all about doing creative routings and playing with the FX.
     
  6. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    cheers mate i took some of your advice on board.. I cloned the bass and took out the high end so it was playin the roll of the sub.. I then added distortion (bitcrusher) xciter) band pass on my original and it came out like this : http://soundcloud.com/absynthdj/absynth-imagine-bass-edit what do you think?
     
  7. Dead Cosmonaut

    Dead Cosmonaut Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    This tune is much different than the style of dnb I usually listen to or play so take my advice with a grain of salt. I'd say you could overdrive the mids a little more and even turn up that channel a bit. It would also be pretty cool if you automated some of the bass with some filters, light phasing and filtering, etc.
     
  8. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Hmm.....there is no need really to clone the bass.

    Ok, so your bass is in pattern 1 for instance, and it's running through channel 1 on your mixer. Now, at the bottom of your mixer there are little arrows and dials. If you click on channel 1, you will see there is a dial underneath the master channel. This tells you that channel 1 is routed directly to the master channel.

    Now, if you click the little arrow above it, the dial will disappear, so the channel is not going anywhere. Now, if you then click on the same arrows underneath patterns 2,3 & 4 you will see little dials appear. Turn them up a notch, and now your bass from channel 1 is routed through channels 2,3 & 4.

    By doing this, you can now have channel 2 as your low end frequencies, 3 as your mids, and 4 as your high's. So EQ all the mid and high out of channel 2, and mono it. then take out the low frequencies, and extreme high frequencies out of channel 3. And finally, channel 4 you can take out all the low end and most of the mids.

    From here, you can add overdrive to the mids, distort etc. Add chorus, reverb etc to the highs blah blah blah......

    Now, if you look at channels 2.3 & 4, you will notice they are all seperately being routed to the master channel, so again, click the arrow under the master channel for each of the three channels, so they are no longer going directly to the master channel. Now if you route these three channels, into channel 5, this means you have seperated the bass into your highs, mids and lows, and then bought them back together into one channel, where you can add compression to gel them all back into one bass.

    I hope you can understand what I'm trying to explain as it took me ages to understand how to do this, but now I do know, it's made a whole world of difference to my productions. If there is something you are not clear on, please let me know and I'll try to explain in better detail
     
  9. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    wow cheers mate u opened a whole new door for me :) rele appreciate it.. u know any gd plugins to add on the bass?
     
  10. ApeCat

    ApeCat Human Dubplate

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Big cheers!

    Good plugins for fucking with your bass lines a little: Delta Filter (for nice filters..), Delta Force (for multiband distortion) and Fruity Love Philter (for more knobs and buttons and functions and crap than I'd know how to shake a stick at).
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  11. BLoodstaiN`

    BLoodstaiN` Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    OHMFORCE OHMICIDE! for the distortion!
    just distort the fuck out of your bassline ;p
     
  12. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Well I usually use Distroyr for distortion and overdrive (Google it, its free) TAL-Bitcrusher - to bitcrush (obviously) Voxengo Boogex is also a good amp that can give a real good grainy distortion too.
     
  13. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    I just made a new thread so anyone who fancys sharing some decent fx wack them in there!
     
  14. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    buy a channel strip from some old vintage console offa ebays or some shit, run your bass through that see if it doesnt help a little
     
  15. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
    Notch filters work best for me.
     
  16. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    what exactly do strip consoles do?