How can my weekly survive?

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by middleWave, Jun 24, 2014.

1. middleWave

middleWave New Member

Howdy. I'm based in Shenzhen, China (across the border from HK), and the market is entirely different here. I've been throwing monthly parties for the past six years (mostly dnb) and with some extra free time have decided to take a stab at a weekly night.

The name/concept is Muzik Box, thus we are open to all kinds of music. Started with dnb, went into 80s, followed by reggae, next up is a house night. So far we are off to a good start - i have a good team, given them shares, have a lovely venue, and good stream of local/regional headliners. Averaging about 100 punters a night with a nominal door fee of $5 (which is very unusual in this city).

3 weeks in, we're off to a good start, but's a bit stressful and I'm worried about burning myself out, losing the steady stream of punters...but I would like to make this last. It's paying my rent/bills for now, so I am approaching it like a business and hoping to be sustainable.

Any tips on running a successful weekly?

Thanks!

2. Kobi

Kobi Member

I'm living in Taiyuan atm, hopefully will visit Shenzhen next year

3. $marty

$marty Dexcell Staff Member

Running weekly nights is usually a recipe for running your night into the ground. Things tend to get stale very quickly, i'm afraid.
    Are you booking any named DJ's at all?

4. Gloxxy

Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

If you want advice on a weekly night you need to talk to this guy > https://www.facebook.com/richard.reason

He's been running a weekly night in Manchester called Hit'n'Run for years and years.

I'm sure you'll find his advice invaluable!

5. Forau

Forau CONCUSSION RECS

Yeah weekly seems like a death sentance to be honest. 100 punters isnt bad though.

6. Eternaloptimist

Eternaloptimist Active Member