High Tone synth is clicking

Discussion in 'Production' started by BLoodstaiN`, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. BLoodstaiN`

    BLoodstaiN` Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    I've been working on this track today, i added this pretty dreamy synth, with a fair amount of reverb.
    now after a few hours i'm back on that track, but i hear that synth making clicking sounds like,
    tried compressing, taking away some decay.
    it doesn't help,
    can someone explain what this is? or is this just FL giving me some crap?
     
  2. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    rather than trying to fix it straight away try finding why it might be clicking first :p
    Solo it, is it still clicking?
    Low pass it, reduce volume, take away some high end with an EQ etc, then the one that stops the clicking will also provide the remedy!
     
  3. BLoodstaiN`

    BLoodstaiN` Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Well i've tried that, When it plays solo it clicks just a little bit, almost not noticeable
    Together with my hats, it clicks
    Together with my Kick & snare, clicks
    Together with a short bass synth in the intro, clicking,
    but i'll try what you said
    thanks

    ---------- Post added at 01:40 ---------- Previous post was at 01:34 ----------

    Nothing works really, tried 'm all, could it be my headset itself that causes the clicking 'cause this afternoon i was using speakers?

    ---------- Post added at 02:13 ---------- Previous post was at 01:40 ----------

    Nvm, it's not fixable, It's Fl, I exported the track into mp3 and there was no clicking, it's just FL
     
  4. Protoplasym

    Protoplasym Nuskool

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    5
    What you're reporting sounds like possible Aliasing due to your Sound Cards' Drivers or there could be an issue with you running too many processes in that song project (overloading the CPU resources can cause all kinds of noises)..... or could be the VSTi or Reverb you're running it through.

    Noises can come from many different places.
     
  5. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    was the synth raw? (made by yourself in FL and used as is) or a sample? if its FL as proto said u might be overloading it, just resample the synth so its only using one instrument rather than the one(s) u used to make it
     
  6. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Hmm....could be a latency issue. Go to FL's options page and select audio. You should see a buffer slider, slide it a little to the right and try again, if it still does it, slide it right a little more until the problem dissappears.

    I had this issue when I 1st started out on FL, once I rectified the buffer size I've had no problems since.

    It's basically a latency issue which means you have too many synth's / plugins etc running at the same time and your computer can't keep up with them. By sliding your buffer across to the right you are initially telling your PC to prioritise it's workflow toward your sound
     
  7. msmith222

    msmith222 redbeard

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    could also be as simple as an attack or release issue.
     
  8. BLoodstaiN`

    BLoodstaiN` Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Worked, Thankyou!
     
  9. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    No worries dude, glad to help