help with logic 8

Discussion in 'Production' started by st420, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. st420

    st420 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    hey guys, feeling pretty stupid but i just cant figure it out on my own..

    when making drum patterns using logics ultrabeat, whenever i put that pattern into the arrange window, for some reason the pattern will play constantly, instead of just where i put it in the arrange window...

    anyone get what i mean?? an know how to fix it?

    thanks
     
  2. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    look on youtube mate there must be some tutorials.

    i do all my drums in audio :)
     
  3. JamesZero

    JamesZero aka Zero Beats

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    South London
    This...

    since I started working in Cubase and doing all my drum's in audio I would never go back.
    It make's life so much easier having everything on it's own individual track and being able to edit everything seperatly.
     
  4. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    exactly ^
     
  5. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,438
    Likes Received:
    563
    Location:
    Feltham
    I have everything in a seperate track but i still use ultrabeat.
    i mainly use it so I can pitch up or pitch down a hit so it 'locks' with the rest of the drums
     
  6. Indefatigable

    Indefatigable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rooting Tooting SW, UK
    You may need to set you left and right locaters, thn when you copy the pattern to the arrange window it should only copy the pattern between your locaters. it will only.

    If you are doing this, are you getting a phase/echo type of effect where the pattern sould be pasted? If this is he case then Ultrabeat is playing the pattern as well, there should be an option to urn off Ultrabeat from playing the pattterns when you press play (but it will still play when triggered in he arrange window.

    Personally I find it best to use a combination of drum patterns, single hits and sample breaks, each have their advantages.
     
  7. DaNdelIoN

    DaNdelIoN Brum Junglist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    birmingham
    when u click off ultrabeat to play ur track, make sure u turn ultrabeat off otherwise both the arrange window will be playing and ultrabeat will be looping...