HELP WITH CONNECTING XBOX TO LIVE THROUGH PC ?

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by clewesy08, Apr 26, 2009.

  1. clewesy08

    clewesy08 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wiltshire
    mst of the places ive looked says u have to ryt click on the wireless connection n then go to advanced then click a box to allow allow other computers to connect through this connection or smit like that

    but on myn i dnt av no boxes to tick all i get is windows firewall settings section

    any help ?
     
  2. djhektikz

    djhektikz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    2
    hmmm do u not have a router? iv jus got internet cable from the router into the back of my xbox.
     
  3. NastyLimbCheat

    NastyLimbCheat Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bristol
    lol what exactly are you trying to do?

    connect to xbox live through the internet?

    or connect your xbox to your pc through your home network with windows media sharing aka windows media center?
     
  4. clewesy08

    clewesy08 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wiltshire
    yeh ive gt a router its just
    i want to play 360 upstairs because downstairs tv is in use

    cuz i heard u can connect xbox to pc through ethernet then use the wireless on pc to connect to live
     
  5. clewesy08

    clewesy08 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wiltshire
    im trying to connect to xbox live through my pc which connects to the router which connects to the internet which gets me xbox live :)
     
  6. MattPlanet

    MattPlanet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you running Vista or XP on the PC? Also, what router is it running into?

    It's possible with any configuration really, but I can tailor my instructions if I know the above first...
     
  7. $marty

    $marty Dexcell Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18,698
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Location:
    Watford
    Just save £60 and get the wireless adaptor :2thumbs:
     
  8. djhektikz

    djhektikz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    2
    jus buy a 10 metre long internet cable thats wat i done
     
  9. clewesy08

    clewesy08 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wiltshire
    im running xp home
    and its connected to a netgear
     
  10. NastyLimbCheat

    NastyLimbCheat Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bristol
    yea thats what i did, got a 20 meter cable, downstairs to upstairs router
     
  11. MattPlanet

    MattPlanet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can bear to run a cable, you'll get a better/more reliable connection.

    If you click Start>Control Panel>Network Connections, then right-click on your wireless connection then Properties then the Advanced tab, is there a tick for enable Internet Connection Sharing (ICS)?

    Also, do you know the IP of your router? ICS uses 192.168.0.1, so you'll need to change it if that's the case. Generally speaking, Netgear use 192.168.0.1.

    You might get on better just by bridging the connections (Start>Control Panel>Network Connections) then select your LAN and wireless connections, right-click and select bridge. You'll probably lose your wireless connection during this, and if it doesn't work, be prepared to reverse it. Personally, I've not had a huge amount of luck with this method...
     
  12. DJNitrousUK

    DJNitrousUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    :ditto:
     
  13. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales
    This is what I have to do mate cause a cable isn't possible for me like.

    1. Right, you should have two connections in the Network Connections menu in Control Panel. The LAN one will be your Xbox and the Wireless one will be your Wireless adapter:

    [​IMG]

    2. Right click on your wirless adapter connection and click on properties.Then follow the instructions in the picture below. Select "Use the following IP address" and the input an IP like this one:

    IP address: 192.168.0.5
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1

    Preferred DNS server: 192.168.0.1

    [​IMG]

    When your done, click on OK. Do this for the LAN connection too but change the IP address to 192.168.0.4 and keep the rest the same as the wireless adapter.

    3. When your done, highlight both connections your just edited and select "Bridge Connections".

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    4. Now the connections are bridged. Repeat step 2 and edit the Netowork Bridge IP address to something like 192.168.0.3 and keep the other settings the same. So now you have your IP's like this:
    Network Bridge: 192.168.0.3
    LAN Network:192.168.0.4
    Wireless Adapter: 192.168.0.5

    You don't have to have 3, 4, 5 on the end, it's up to you what number you have aslong as it's between 2-249.

    I also set my Xbox 360 IP to 192.168.0.250, you do this on your xbox like. The subnet settings etc on your xbox will be the same as the one's you've done before.

    5. Now you need to go into your router page, in firefox or something put http://192.168.0.1/ You'll probably have to sign in to your router, I think passwords are usually "admin" "administrator" or "password". I'm not quite sure how to do it on a Netgear router but I'll show you how I did it on mine, it should be quite similar tbh.
    There should be an advanced tab or something like below and/or an option for Port Forwarding. Make sure the IP's you have set before and all on your router like in the drop down list below. Now you'll need to create a "rule" for xbox live.

    [​IMG]

    6. Now you need to make a rule for xbox live otherwise your router's firewall will block the ports that xbox live uses. The settings for the rules are below:

    UDP: 88 88 88
    UDP: 3074 3074 3074
    TCP: 3074 3074 3074

    [​IMG]

    Name it "live" or something. Then click save or whatever it is on a Netgear router. Now go back and select your Xbox 360s IP from the drop down list (.250 at the end) then apply the "live" rule to your Xbox 360s IP.

    [​IMG]

    Now save all the settings on your router. Make sure you've saved the router settings otherwise it won't keep them when you switch it off. Try Xbox live, it should work now but if it doesn't then post again in here and tell me what's up and I'll have another go like.

    (If you notice that my IP's are 1._ at the end it's just because my router is a D-Link and the IP for those is 192.168.1.1 and yours is a Netgear and they are 192.168.0.1)
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2009
  14. MattPlanet

    MattPlanet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Boom guide, that.

    Much better than over ICS.

    Excellent work.
     
  15. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales
    Thanks man, that cured Sunday afternoon boredom! Yeh I tried ICS and it wasn't having none of it so I had to do it this way like.
     
  16. clewesy08

    clewesy08 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wiltshire
    nice one for the ace guide m8
    i just get a bit stuck wen i have to set the rules and services bit m8
    u culdnt do a list of what i actually have to do as im confused


    if u culd can we do a show app or sumfing over msn so u can see wot i do and help me along ?
    many thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2009
  17. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales
    Give us your Netgear model number mate.
     
  18. clewesy08

    clewesy08 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wiltshire
    Netgear DG834GT
     
  19. Welsh Junglist

    Welsh Junglist AKA Faqade

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Wales