Help Using Audacity recording problems

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by Junglist_007, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. Junglist_007

    Junglist_007 learning difficulties

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Hi People,
    Hope someone can help me out. I use Audacity to record my DJ mixes, just strated using Audacity. Problem is every time i record then play it back it comes out all distorted. I got phono leads into back of my Technics mixer (REC OUT) then other end into my laptop micro phone port. It records music but its all distored and fuzzy. Ive tried messing about with all sorts of settings but nothing works. Ive also put other part of lead into other port, but that don't work. Has anyone got any ideas, please help. Thanks Guys : )

    PS. I been told this program won't work becuase the mixer sends out high signals/levels then micro phone. Is this true!
     
  2. Treazon

    Treazon Myriad Abstruse

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall

    On Audacity there is a slider at the top that allows you to change the recording level, you need to make sure that this is quite low otherwise the sound will be clipped...

    Basically, just look at the peaks on the screen when you are recording and make sure that they aren't too high, if you lower the recording level then it should be sorted...
     
  3. Junglist_007

    Junglist_007 learning difficulties

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Hi Treazon thanks for the info. I tried that lot better than it was, but i still hear but distorting. Do you know of any software that i could buy, make recording easyier. Cheers mate.
     
  4. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    mate u shouldnt record through the microphone input, as the microphone input boosts the signal

    you should plug it into a line input, does your computer have three holes next to each other??? if so, one of these should be the line input

    oh and buying other software would be pointless, you would have the same outcome
     
  5. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    :word:

    Stick your jack into 'line in' and make sure the recording levels in audacity don't go red. Its exactly the same as having red on your mixer.
     
  6. kenyon

    kenyon @ The Crack Spot

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    West London
    try a program called wavepad and its free works v well
     
  7. Junglist_007

    Junglist_007 learning difficulties

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Thanks for the replays, nice 1 guys. I got port next to microphone jack, got lilltle red light in it. Is that the line input? Cheers 4 all the help.
     
  8. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    Thats probably an optical connection so probably no. You can try it anyway.

    Programs will NOT help you with clipped distorted music. If you have a too high level going into the card then you have a too high level, end of story! No software audio fiddling will change that.

    Check your volume levels in Windows. Open the control panel and volumes. Pull the slider on mic input down. That might help. Actually it should solve your problem.

    Or disconnect from record on your mixer and stick the cables into a monitor output - put the volume down.

    OR pull the levels way down on your faders and boost your amplifiers and headphones, that will also decrease the signal to your sound card.
     
  9. BUY A GOOD SOUNDCARD DUDE!
    Forget running it directly to your laptop.
    Most standard onboard soundcards are pony.
     
  10. Junglist_007

    Junglist_007 learning difficulties

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Thanks for all your help guys much appricated, nice 1.