help upgrading my new p.c. please .. anyone ???

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by EWOKS, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    i'd like to upgrade the hardrive to a 500gb

    and i'd like an extra 1 gb ram of memory,

    but what does all the jargon ect mean.. im lost.. can i just buy any 1gb ram memory, and it will work, or do i have to get exactly the same as the RAM already in it? ..

    and will any Hardrive fit ?? .. aslong as its SATA?? thanks.
     
  2. moriaty

    moriaty Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,464
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    between a low hum and a high whine
    post up your equipment codes and i'll give it a shot tomorrow when im sober. blergh...
     
  3. ali^

    ali^ Bigtingsagwarn

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sheffield
  4. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,039
    Likes Received:
    737
    Location:
    Canada
  5. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    ok. cheers for the heads up on that 1tb hardrive, cheap as chips and reviews show its good. sure i have sata connectors in my comp. its not a new comp, getting it cheap and plan to upgrade it ..

    how do i find out about equipment / motherboard codes so you can tell me about RAM ?? .. do i have to take my comp apart then ?
     
  6. ali^

    ali^ Bigtingsagwarn

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sheffield