help on parts for custom pc please

Discussion in 'Production' started by EvezDroppin, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    ez fellas.
    i get a sutdent grant soon and my current machine is not up to the task of multiple tracks when producing.
    i don't want to be spending more than 600 at the very most with a monitor included.

    I built my last pc but havn't been in touch with latest processors or ram or graphics cards and aren't entirely sure what I'm going to need motherboardwise etc.
    I definately want intel, 4gig of ram I'm aiming for, processors I have no clue about whats the good models or what cores are actually going to be used to their potential.
    23" monitor would be nice... sick of producing on a 15" laptop screen!!
    Even if you can just point me in the direction of what models and makes I can do the rest myself, just have no clue, wouldn't mind a decent gfx cards for some games, probably pick CS:S up again!


    :boobies:
     
  2. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,164
    Likes Received:
    951
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    ASUS P55 Mobo £79.37

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Asus...-(x16)-DDR3-2200(OC)-SATA-3Gb-s-SATA-RAID-ATX

    Intel i5 Quad Core Lynnfield Socket 1156 £146.82

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Inte...re-28-GHz-8MB-Cache-Core-Ratio-21x-95W-Retail

    4GB Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 RAM £104.76

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/4GB(...-(2000)-CAS-8-9-8-24-DHX-ConnectorXMP-DF-165V

    1GB ASUS HD 4350 Silent Graphics Card £37.58

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/1GB-...Hz-GDDR2-GPU-600MHz-80-Cores-D-Sub-DVI-I-HDMI

    64GB SSD Hard Drive (For OS and programs) £90.42

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/64GB...B-s-write-15K-IOPS-64MB-Cache-3-Year-Warranty

    1TB Hitachi Deskstar Hard Drive (for storage) £40.88

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/1TB-...C-SATA-3Gb-s-7200rpm-32MB-Cache-89-ms-NCQ-OEM

    750W Modular Power Supply £48.02

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/750W...-80plus-Eff-Dual-12V-Sli-Xfire-ATX12V-V22-PSU

    Samasung Lightscribe DVD-RAM 22x writer £15.25

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Sams...DplusRW-x8-RW-x6-x12-RAM-SATA-L-scribe-Retail

    Coolermaster Elite 334 Black Mid Tower Case £29.25

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Coolermaster-Elite-334-Black-Midi-Tower-Case-w-o-PSU

    LG 22" LCD Monitor £117.48

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/22-L...or-1610-D-Sub-1920-x-1080-5ms-1000-1-HD-Black

    £709.83 total for a PC that won't need upgrading for a very long time. You won't be able to play games with that graphics card though but I picked it because its silent.

    I take it you've already got an audio interface?
     
  3. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    ez.

    nice one for the effort!

    all looking good there man, no games is probably a good thing, struggle to find time to produce let alone game as well.
    No I don't have an audio interface, if thats what you'd use to connect your monitors I usually just run it through the line on my mixer to my monitors. take it im gnna need one?!

    ---------- Post added at 12:07 ---------- Previous post was at 12:07 ----------

    oh and would I not need a soundcard?!
     
  4. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    audio interface = sound card.

    You get much better latencies and sound quality with a dedicated audio interface than with any motherboard sound chip. They are usually made very cheap and when you get down to the nicky picky, there's all kinds of noise and bleeps and blarps that are interference from the other parts.

    And you don't need one, but I'd recommend it highly. Also a 750W power supply is overkill. I run (a slightly older computer, but still) a 450W power and I have a power hungry graphics card (which you wouldnt even have with that setup), no problems whatsoever. You need that kind of power if you start getting double GFX cards, or SLI or whatever it's called. You can save a few dolla on that. The SSD drive isn't a requirement either, but I hear it makes bootups and programs startups a flash so that's also something you can save on if youre tight on money. Also keep in mind that it's much more safe nowadays to buy your OS instead of warezing one, since the updating is made so difficult without a proper license and that will leave security vulnerable.
     
  5. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    Oh right yeah I think a soundcard would be a good option!
    maybe opt for a smaller watt power supply then, although im not sure the price deduction will be great for say a 600W or 500W.
    that SSD drive would be a nice treat, would all depend on if I had the money to get it at the time.

    OS wise I was thinking of maybe just sticking with XP? i mean do they still update it, or should I go for vista/7? I think buying an OS is definately a good idea, not worth scimping on the thing which is going to run your machine!
     
  6. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,164
    Likes Received:
    951
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2010
  7. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    gloxxy u leg-end! ill look into it all

    im so eager to get a new pc. laptops just dnt cut it when u start adding lots of different elements to the track.

    i know im going to end up getting a gfx card aswell, im getting a grand was just hoping not to spend all that much of it!
     
  8. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Go with win 7. You can only use about 3,5GB or ram with the basic (32bit) XP, so if you upgrade the memory later you'd have to get rid of it anyway.
     
  9. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,164
    Likes Received:
    951
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    Yes that's a good point kama. Eves, get the 64 bit Windows 7 OS. It runs a hell of a lot faster than the 32 bit OS too.
     
  10. bite and gouge

    bite and gouge Lee Fury & JtB

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gloucester UK
    Not bad for the cash there Gloxxy...

    Agree that the PSU is a little heavy and I'd go for a zalman PSU. Tried a few others but nothing comes close unless your going fan-less.

    The hard drive I would choose a Samsung Spinpoint, they are extremely quiet drives to start with and very competitive.

    The solid state HD would be cool although I couldn't get my apps and OS on 64GB's. I'd rather spend the cash on a zalman processor fan before relying on the one that comes with the processor. Probably set you back around 40 notes but well worth it.

    Getting a good case for the budget, you'll struggle to beat Gloxxy's choice. I'd recommend using scythe fans, go for fixed rpm over varying voltage ones as that will drive you insane listening to the fan ramp up and down when your trying to listen objectively. Also, check out the scythe hard drive caddies, neither will set you back masses.

    Peace