HELP - mcafee security tool

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by djrowney, Nov 27, 2009.

  1. djrowney

    djrowney G13 RECORDS/SMOKESCREEN

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    manchester uk
    kept getting a link up for getting this so i clicked it and now i'm getting reminded to register every 10 fucking seconds!!! i've tried 2 delete it from 'add or remove programs' in control panel, it won't let me open folders or applications including music, it seems like its basically trying to bully me into buying their damn fuckin program!! keeps tellin me i've got loads of viruses aswell when nothing came up on avg, help me please somebody..fuckin ell :confused: :boxing:
     
  2. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,776
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Location:
    STN
    u could do a system restore to a time before u installed it. that might fix it!
    however any files u may have created after the restore point may also dissapear!
     
  3. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Hate shitty problems like this.

    System restore sounds like your best bet to me, when did it start happening and have you done anything you don't mind being wiped away since it happened?
     
  4. DJError

    DJError AKA Error

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    have you tried deleting the mcafee files on your harddrive?
     
  5. Turtles

    Turtles Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    you might have got some malware or something on your pc and it told you to install such and such and that you have loads of viruses but it will actually install a load of viruses on your pc. heard of that kinda shit before.

    could try a system restore or DL something else like Avira or Avast - both free excellent anti-virus.
     
  6. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,165
    Likes Received:
    952
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    Download Malwarebytes, install it, reboot your pc into safe mode (F8) then run a scan with Malwarebytes. It will get rid of any suspicious "Anti-Virus" software.

    Download Link

    http://download.cnet.com/Malwarebyt...4572.html?part=dl-10804572&subj=dl&tag=button

    Once you have got rid of the malware install Avast! Anti-Virus. Its free and exceptional at stopping viruses. You can register it for free and get 14 months of virus database and product updates.

    http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2009
  7. Original Nuttah

    Original Nuttah They Call My Dad Machete

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England, Gloucestershire.
    i agree with the post above.

    sounds like u got spyware/malware. i had that and it wouldnt let me open add/remove programns either. and warned me that i had virus`s but the sneaky thing is its the bad programn thats telling u you have virus`s. kinda making u side with it. just download malwarebytes and do what gloxxy said.
     
  8. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,038
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    shouldnt have installed McAfee in the first place, peice of shit, iv heard of people complaining that you simply cant get it to go away or get it off your PC.

    The first thing I would try is going into Safe Mode and deleting all McAfee folders from Program Files and WINDOWS, before you start system restoring