Drum & Bass Help making this Lead sound!

Discussion in 'Production' started by GoatSnake, Feb 22, 2012.

1. GoatSnake

GoatSnake New Member

In this mix: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-jZp57zi8M at 13:57
    there is a very nice example of a lead i've been kicking around in my head for a while.
    I use Massive and I can't seem to get close to that sound.

Is Massive a adequate synth for dnb leads? Could someone give me a few tips? A full tutorial would be godly but I don't really expect anyone to do that lol.

If it hasn't dawned on anyone yet i'm fairly new to all of this only understanding the very basics.

I know Massive is great for gnarly bass, is there a synth that is known for it's leads or more atmospheric noise output?

Point me in the right direction please! :)

Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  2. ARTFX

ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

Dude Massive is all you need, you can create every kind of sound with every different plugin. To me it sounds as an sine or triangle waveform, filtered, maybe a small pitch modulation.. Also it sounds like some choir sound is layered in there.

3. lostnthesound

lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

This. Ditto on the choir layering as well...perhaps a touch of some kind of reverb-automation...or it could be Massive's sweet Dimensional Expander...

4. GoatSnake

GoatSnake New Member

Really? That's great news! The way i'm going about trying to produce is really trying to learn massive to the point where I can start creating the sounds I want
    while studying a bit of music theory on the side. Then I worry about song structure, drums, compression, mastering etc you know?

5. underspawn

underspawn Headz Roll

You should look intro drums too imo. Even if ur tune has the best bass in the world noone will like it if the drums sound wack

6. GoatSnake

GoatSnake New Member

Right, drums are a very very important aspect of DRUM and bass xD. Now, the way I do my breaks atm is like, I chop up a cool break i find and layer some one