Help!! Best passive monitor speakers out there?!?!

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by djflicky, Apr 28, 2011.

  1. djflicky

    djflicky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Any advice on what to buy?
     
  2. Mish Mash

    Mish Mash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Kingston
    I don't think anyone can really help you very well unless they know how powerful your amp is, cos with passive speakers it all revolves around the power you're giving them
     
  3. djflicky

    djflicky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Just a decent sony amp, im looking at the krk r6's

    Just need to know what connections run from them, if you know what i mean
     
  4. groelle

    groelle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,497
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    northern germany
    why passive? and yeah, mish mash is right, without the power of your amp no ones going to be able to help you..
     
  5. djflicky

    djflicky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    "Passive" because my amp don't have the right connections for "Active" unless running them through my mixer is an option?? quiet confusing tbh
     
  6. Controller

    Controller (╯'□')╯︵ ┻━┻

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,319
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Hemel Hempstead
    Active means they have built in amp does it not? Meaning you can just run cables straight into your mixer.
     
  7. djflicky

    djflicky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Yeah active means that, but they are well expensive! I'm feeling the passive rockit 6's just wanna know if they have normal connections at the back, sounds weird but someone mentioned they have a different type of connection through to an amp
     
  8. toolx

    toolx DJ Ambiont

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Austria
    check the krk website then? they sure have all the connections listed
     
  9. Acid_Alli

    Acid_Alli aka The Executioner

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Norfuck
    Believe the R6 use Binding Posts, You can change the connections on wires anyway?

    tbh just buy some decent active's, for the same price your gonna be splashing on some krk r6's. That way you know the correct power is gonna be used for the drivers, rather than going hit and miss with a different brand amp to drivers?
     
  10. ilovelondon

    ilovelondon Call me Jens.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,629
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Belgium
    ^ yes, same advice from me.

    Get active ones, you'll get more out of them and you're not likely going to a) assemble a setup that beats what audio engineers created and 2) stay under the price of the active monitors.
    + you'll have to check the ohms (impedance) out and probably start thinking about placing them in series/parallel if you're going with passive...

    Get active ones mate. :)