Hello fellow deejayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyzzzzzzzz

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by dnbkingz, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. dnbkingz

    dnbkingz bollocks

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,766
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Now then, i am an idiot. So now that we have that covered, i can ask you my n00b question.

    so this is my mixer n ting:

    [​IMG]

    The holes marked in pink are in use (cables and them twisty metal thingys)

    Wut hole does i put a line-in cable to record something?

    I'm guessing the 'line' holes are a no no?

    Or....

    Could i use something like this?

    [​IMG]

    Or is it exactly the same as sticking a cable into my laptop and recording from there?


    There was a magical device once talked of, a thingy.....that had two thingys, that plugged into the one thingy on the back of a mixer....

    Honestly i can't be any more specific than that, my memory is as bad as a gold fish's.

    Guys, any help would be hugely apperciated. :)
     
  2. DJ Spliff

    DJ Spliff Never Enuff Vinyl

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,171
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Someone else could probably field this question better than me but I've heard tell of using one of you outputs for your speakers. I don't know if you can use an audio interface or a preamp. It's a matter of figuring out where to plug them in. Hopefully someone else can clarify.
     
  3. Goosey_J

    Goosey_J IGNORE ME

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,176
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bristol, Avon, United Kingdom
    Someone with more knowledge correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think you can with that mixer. As far as I'm aware, your mixer needs to have a "record" or "record out" set of phono sockets.
     
    dnbkingz likes this.
  4. fisher

    fisher I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    1
    dnbkingz likes this.
  5. Do0Bs

    Do0Bs Fo Shizzle Dizzle

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    You need some sort of splitter so you can take and RCA to mini jack cable from your output ports to your pc
     
    dnbkingz likes this.
  6. dnbkingz

    dnbkingz bollocks

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,766
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Somewhere
    AHA!
    A SPLITTER!

    Thanks guys :)

    On the case tomorrow.

    Much appreciated :):):)
     
  7. dnbkingz

    dnbkingz bollocks

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,766
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Actually. hold on.

    So i get these two splitters.

    One of them into my output. Where do i stick the other one?
    In the other output hole?

    And then link my laptop to one, and the speakers to the other yeah??

    Sorry about this gents. I am a massive twat.
     
  8. dizzzeejungle

    dizzzeejungle Junglist Down Under..

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Perth
    What you want to do is split your output, so you would essentially have 4 output holes, (white, red, white, red)

    two of these holes will go to your speakers

    two more will go to your computer via an RCA to line in cable (these are found in stores everywhere)



    * your line inputs are meant for CDJs , btw lol
     
    dnbkingz likes this.
  9. DJ Spliff

    DJ Spliff Never Enuff Vinyl

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,171
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    May need to get an adapter like this.
    [​IMG]
     
    dnbkingz likes this.
  10. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,165
    Likes Received:
    952
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    Buy 2 of these.

    [​IMG]

    Plug 1 into each of your outputs on your mixer. Get 1 phono cable like this.

    [​IMG]

    Get one 3.5mm to 2 RCA phono jacks cable like this

    [​IMG]

    Plug the white RCA jacks from both cables into the left (white) socket at the top with the RCA splitter on. Plug the red RCA jacks from both cables into the right (red) socket at the bottom with the RCA splitter on.

    Plug the 2 x RCA phono cable into your amp and speakers and the 3.5mm headphone jack into your laptop/PC so you can record your mixes.
     
    dnbkingz likes this.
  11. Fortune^

    Fortune^ ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Manchester
    SWEETPEA TAKE NOTE
     
  12. dnbkingz

    dnbkingz bollocks

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,766
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Thankyou guys.

    Your help is appreciated a lot :) :):):):):):):)
     
  13. Apeh

    Apeh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    We had a session round mine on friday night and I ended up bringing the TT's down from my room... We had no-where to plug them in so I got a phono to jack and went from master on the mixer in to line in on the PC and ran the sound through the PC speakers/sub... couldn't you just do the same?

    Basically using your PC as an amp. It worked for us anyways, and we were definately not sobar at the time.

    Download audacity and hit record, it might work :p
     
  14. djmotiondnb

    djmotiondnb AKA Tactician

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, United Kingdom
    dude get an audio interface like the pic you've posted.. USB into your usb port in your laptop obv.. RCA from the master output RCA on audio interace.. then RCA to RCA on an amp or RCA to Phono if youve got a stereo with AUX input..

    =)