gradual volume build up on kick roll?

Discussion in 'Production' started by joka89, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. joka89

    joka89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    pretty new to logic pro so wanting to learn how to get my production skills better.. anyone able to tell me how id get a gradual build up of volume on kick roll??
     
  2. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Change the velocity of each hit. Or automate the volume over the bar would be my guess. I dont use logic, but i reckon thats how it would be done
     
  3. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    London
    do something more interesting that volume, like a Low or Hipass filter sweep, or a Notch sweep if ur feeling adventurous...or maybe get a grain delay out and play with the sound in strange ways


    or you could just do a volume automation like everyone else :D (look up Logic Automation for sum ideas on doing that, i dont use it so cant help there)
     
  4. IV4

    IV4 Currently a newt.

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,159
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    What is a notch sweep?
     
  5. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    London
    Notch, is the opposite to a bandpass, kind of
     
  6. T:M

    T:M Dusty Techno Workout

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    St. Louis
    May also be under band reject
     
  7. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
    same in every program mate. volume automation/read 0db - whatever db :) pretty simple stuff?
     
  8. 2Cold

    2Cold New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    automating a hi pass filter usually sounds quite nice
     
  9. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    lol, this must be a piss take
     
  10. Rubs90

    Rubs90 KeyControl

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Bristol
    Just press "a" for automation and if you mess around a bit it will become pretty obvious after some minutes. You can automate the volume but as it has been said there are other things far more interesting
     
  11. felun

    felun Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aotearoa NZ
    draw a line in the regions volume, open the hyperdraw, goto volume, draw line. easy