Got a gig... Im nervous?!

Krispy

VIP Junglist
I've been DJing for like 4 years but the thing is I have never really played out anywhere, the odd house party here and there and I played at a club twice before about 2 years ago.

I got a gig coming up on a friday at a club and i'm actually quite nervous about it. I think what im nervous about is fucking up and doing a bad job more than anything, I need to get this idea out of my head.

Anyone got any suggestions?

just make sure u have a good hours rinsout early in the day. i find that if i havent mixed the day of an event then i fuck up on stupid things on the night.

same goes for mixing just before u head to the club. if u have a 2 hour rinseout and leave straight away, chances are ur brain might be tired from constant mixing and u may not perform as good as ud hoped. best to leave a break in between even if just for an hour or so.

don't get stoned... will make it worse!

don't get rip-roaring drunk either! a little bit of booze to ease you in might help though?

Good tips! I like alcohol! And Freek I do understand what you are saying about going into it with tired ears.

Also, I was thinking about planning out a set before hand and maybe practicing it once or twice. That way I won't really have to be too concerned with what i'm going to play.

Good tips! I like alcohol! And Freek I do understand what you are saying about going into it with tired ears.

Also, I was thinking about planning out a set before hand and maybe practicing it once or twice. That way I won't really have to be too concerned with what i'm going to play.

Some people say it takes away the fun of playing out and being creative on the spot. If this is your first time playing out in a good while then i would definately reccomend this. it will definately boost your confidence if u know ur set inside out.