good free sampler

Discussion in 'Production' started by safety, May 17, 2009.

  1. safety

    safety double safety

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    raglan, nz
  2. *State

    *State Self confessed VW nut

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South wales.
    it looks pretty cool, just downloaded it. do you know how to import samples into it? im stuck lol.
     
  3. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    in windows you can drag and drop if your DAW is explorer-based (ie. not in fruity, you can still drag from other places but not from fruity browser). Also works by pressing 'LOAD' in the upper left corner.

    Oh and I'd advise to choose version 1. Ver 2 something was a bit unstable for me atleast and some things just simply didnt work as it is a beta.
     
  4. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Btw especially loving the Mörder OD filter/dist thing... Ruff!
     
  5. cj_sat69

    cj_sat69 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    how u supposed to install this shit?
     
  6. safety

    safety double safety

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    raglan, nz
    install it into your plugin folder, then find it in you production software
     
  7. *State

    *State Self confessed VW nut

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South wales.
    ok so shortcircuit 1 is now in my fl effects mixer box thing and ive loaded a drum loop into it, i cant find a play button anywhere in shrotcurcuit to liten to the changes the parameters make. im stuck again.
     
  8. safety

    safety double safety

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    raglan, nz
    have you tried pressing a key on your midi keyboard? i must admit i haven't had ap lay yet, but i just assumed it was more for single hits or samples anyways. otherwise i think there is a forum dedicated to it form where you downloaded it
     
  9. *State

    *State Self confessed VW nut

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South wales.

    nah i havnt got a midi keyboard man. is there a way to link it to the piano roll?
     
  10. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    This is pretty basic.

    You load up a sample, and assign it to a key, or a range of keys. Lets say you load a break and want to play it from C4. From the left hand side, select the sample, and find the part about "zone range". This means the zone of the keyboard this sample will be played from. Drag them all (low key, root key, high key) to C4 - Or alternatively click the black 'multi' tab and drag the grey vertical column sideways to C4.

    Now when you use C4 in the piano roll, the sample will play from the sampler.

    If you are using a break, I suggest you slice it: Just below the sample image there is a dropdown menu that has all the possible playback options in it - select 'Sliced (keymap)'.

    Then by right-clicking the sample select 'split slice' and a new slice will appear. These will play then from c4 and c#4 respectively.

    However, for break works I suggest sticking to the fruity built-in slicer, which will get you there a lot faster. The only drawback is that it doesn't allow for different slices to be output to different FX channels. In Shortcircuit this is achieved by first slicing the samples, then right-clicking on the slice and selecting Slice -> zone. Then you can select the new zone and output it to a different bus. If you have multiple outputs enabled in fruity, they'll go to different FX channels.
     
  11. Reactor Grits

    Reactor Grits lick a shot

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    And the more you fuck about with Shortcircuit, the more you'll love it ;) the possibilities are practically infinite thanks to the mod matrix
     
  12. H*product

    H*product Heavyweight product

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bristol
    nice sampler - ugly GUI.
     
  13. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    One clear downside with SC is the lack of any stretching capability.
     
  14. Reactor Grits

    Reactor Grits lick a shot

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    you can set it up to do some granular timestretching, here's a nice topic for doing stuff with SC you might not have dreamed of before:

    http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=2883919

    quite an essential readthrough if you want to get the most out of this baby. And personally, I rather have a sampler looking like a robotized milk carton then something as rigid and unstructured as kontakt :teeth: