Frustration with figuring out what kind of track I want

Discussion in 'Production' started by mat42291, Aug 21, 2012.

1. mat42291

mat42291 SuperNoob

Hey all, I took a huge break from production and then lately I've just been inspired to start up again. My biggest issue seems to be not knowing how I want something to sound. A lot of the time my tracks are really mellow and it's hard to break out of it.

I'm still a beginner when it comes to everything, but I'm slowly getting better. I'm just wondering if anyone else had this problem starting out. Most of the time when I'm making a track I let things flow and I'm not too controlling, I find when I start forcing it things just get ugly and then I end up just putting stuff in for the sake of it being "right" instead of what sounds good to me.

Sometimes I think I get too caught up in worrying if it sounds too simple and worrying about technical stuff. Or I start comparing my tracks to others too much.

Have you ever started a project and felt really good about it, but then wanted to try something else a few days later? It's like some days I'm digging the mellow vibe and other days I want it to be more energetic, but it's like the two ideas don't mesh well together because my mindset was different when I made it. Almost like I'm bipolar with the music.

2. djSing

djSing Ill-usions

I kinda see where you are coming from.. I often create something late at night, come back to it the next day and think it doesn't sound as good. Its quite annoying for me personally.. I'm always striving to make something better... and my mind is always in two places as to what I wanna make. I primarily make liquidy sorta tracks, something to chill to, but I want to make some harder beats and basslines - I start a project with that intention and it either ends up being forgotten or it eventually turns into a liquid piece again.

3. modern

modern Member