Fruity Sample Problems from a noob!

Discussion in 'Production' started by muzzadj, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    i have downloaded a couple of sample packs for my drums, but when i layer one up with either a fruity preset sample or something from another pack i have downloaded it's slightly off the beat so i get a d-dun d-dun d-dun sound..

    Can anyone help me out? As i said, im a noob lol, and not completely familiar with all the terminology and stuff so try and explain in noob language lol!

    Cheers
     
  2. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    you could change the buffer size, under audio preferences in the setup screen. that might fix it, but im not sure
     
  3. Hightech

    Hightech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Make sure the two beats are the same bpm?
    im not sure in FL does that automatically didn't use it for very long.

    and don't get two completely different beats?
     
  4. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    They are similar beats..

    how do i change the bpm of each one??
     
  5. Hightech

    Hightech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    sorry mate i wish i could tell you i use ableton :/

    ah just when u drop a sample in click top left down pointing arrow thing in ur channel settings box and go detectbpm read that that might help?
     
  6. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    alright will give it a go when i get home mate.. nice one
     
  7. Hightech

    Hightech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    hope its helps
     
  8. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    load up a slicer, set the bpm, or, time stretch the sampler to 1 bar. dont particularly recommend that though but it does work
     
  9. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    You should slice n dice the beat to single hits with Audacity for example (it's free). Then you can get them on beat and restructure the pattern in any way you want.

    here's a nice tutorial on slicing beats in fruity. http://forum.breakbeat.co.uk/tm.asp?m=1967473785
     
  10. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Also, if you're talking about individual hits, some samples have a silent part before the hit. I really don't know why but some just do. So you should maybe cut the silent part out with a wave editor.
     
  11. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    bro, audacity is free? what channel are you watching
     
  12. sotalex

    sotalex man your battlestations

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium,lommel
    yeah I think this might be the problem. Just open the sample window and right click on the wave form. choose edit and cut the silent part in the editor.
     
  13. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars

    benzodiazepine channel man. its incredible. i dont know i just googled free audio editor and audacity was on top...
     
  14. JMDJ

    JMDJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    too much effort lol, will just use different samples.. n1 though

    MuzzaDJ
     
  15. Niceneasyuk

    Niceneasyuk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Your using FL Studio 8 im asuming. Open the sample up in edison which comes with FL you don't need to download anything like audacity and see if you can chop it to fit your needs.
     
  16. Niceneasyuk

    Niceneasyuk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    no such thing as to much effort :p
     
  17. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    in the FL sampler, there is a trim control.... this will remove silence from the beggining and end of the sample

    failing that.... trim it in a wave editor
     
  18. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    In fact, I switched from a cracked Sound Forge today and oh boy is it free? It's free'er than the proverbial free bird freefalling. FREE.
     
  19. Dj Jammin

    Dj Jammin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only piece of helpful advice in this thread :p i was gonna say it but you got there first!!
     
  20. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Oh right sick..

    Where can i find it mate?