FL Studio Workflow...

Discussion in 'Production' started by DJVendetta, Feb 7, 2011.

1. DJVendetta

DJVendetta Member

I'm getting to grips with FL Studio now and was wondering what my workflow for a song should be...

Should I have different patterns for different drum loops that I want (e.g. normal drum loop, drums without hats, just hats etc)
    then there's a couple of synths... Do I need a different pattern for each different 1 bar pattern I create? (I'm just worried that I'll end up with hundreds of patterns, is this how it's supposed to be?)
    And do I only use one bass or a low and a mid?

Sorry I'm really new to production, I'd really appreciate any help.
    Thanks

2. logikz

logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

you dont have to, you can use clips in the top screen on the arrange view. make one long one or copies that you can alter individually.
    but yeah with my dam nation project we easily wind up with 200 patterns, its just what youre comfortable working with that matters.

3. Nacon

Nacon Vidual

I find it more comfortable, to make all the melodies and crap in 1 long pattern and then i'll just manipulate it and cut the sections like i want them in the playlist.

This way i don't end up with 50+ patterns which i find a little annoying.

4. groelle

groelle Well-Known Member

i mostly do 4-8 bar patterns - or with drums 1-4, and make copies of that with variations. once im happy with the sound ill export and reimport into the playlist as audio.

i do all the drum-sounds in one pattern tho, and route everything to different mixer channels and busses etc so i can manipulate them this way and not having to do thousands of patterns just for drums.

each to their own, and whatever works best for you really is the key here.

5. ApeCat

ApeCat Human Dubplate

How I do reimported audios?

6. Mr Fletch

Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

Either file - import. Or just drag and drop the audio into the automation area of the sequencer

7. Simply D.