First World PC Problems

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by Phat_Sam, Sep 17, 2013.

  1. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    FAO Harry or Gloxxy or anyone really...

    So just bought two new Kingston 4GB RAM sticks, IDENTICAL to the 2 already installed in my Mobo. I installed them so as to have 16GB of Memory and now the PC won't start.

    Used every combination of installation, new and old, just new, just old, all different combinations and nothing. Only works with the older ones. I bought the Mobo about 2 weeks ago and the old RAM came with. Everything is pretty much brand new.

    WTF? BIOS settings?

    Any one got any fancy ideas?

    (Inb4fredhijack)
     
  2. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    886
    Location:
    BH1
    Sounds like you've bought the wrong bus speed to me. or they've sent you the wrong ones as you say they are identical
     
  3. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    They're exactly the same man. All the numbers on the labels etc are the same. 4gig each. Same brand. Same type; DDR3.
     
  4. richie_stix

    richie_stix gomby plz

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,512
    Likes Received:
    298
    if i remember correctly when changing my ram, you've got to be VERY careful of static as this can fuck the CPU / RAM / Motherboard (it was 6 years ago so cant remember exactly)

    it is possible you fucked the whole thing right in the gritter with your carelessness samuel, but i would wait for the ginja ninja to set you straight
     
    Phat_Sam likes this.
  5. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    haha ginja ninja that was pretty huge tbh. soooo, thread jack? or what. whats the deal. the scoop, so to speak.
     
  6. ThePapa

    ThePapa Suffragette City..

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,307
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    West London
    I believe Forau is now head of IT at Capita so he should be able to shed some light on things..
     
  7. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    nuh uh, fuck him, and fuck whatever that meant or was or did, whatever, point is, threadjack?
     
  8. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,045
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Canada
    sorry, I cant be much help :-/

    the RAM could just be duff, got sent some RAM once which caused yellow lines to streak across the screen while booting up, then bluescreened when it got to the windows logon screen.

    whats your CPU?
     
  9. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    cpu, ok lessee, mmm is it that my veins turning brown? from shooting all that crystal meth? its either you should play with lighters, or you shouldnt. its definitely one of them. which one do you think buddy

    its time to get the gremlins like spielberg
     
  10. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    Intel i3-3220 CPU @ 3.30Ghz 64-bit

    I don't think the RAM is duff. Just tried updating the BIOS but havin all sorts of fuckin gay-ass trouble.

    Been careful installing and it all works fine as long as neither of the two new sticks are in it... :(
     
  11. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,800
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Not quite :p.


    Sam, what do you mean by wont start? Does it power up at all? Get to BIOS hen turn off? Can you boot from CD?
     
    ThePapa likes this.
  12. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    i think youll find its disk. boot disk. format a: /s. do that to your c drive. thatll show them whos boss of the jobs.
     
  13. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    London
    are you sure that they where clipped in properly? at both ends? might seem obvious, but worth checking
     
  14. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    was the patient anemic? were there aggregated platelets? on the white run?

    everybody wants to go to heaven, but noone wants to die.
    everybody wants to take back, but noone gives.

    you want to reap the revenue, but not sow the seed.
    help no strangers and go mano e mano until theres noone left.
    but you.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2013
  15. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
    magnets will fix it
     
    richie_stix likes this.
  16. Hombre-J

    Hombre-J Currently Ballsacked

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    This hasn't been threadjacked...

    It's been threadkarled.
     
  17. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    not good enough, jack, the rottenest heart has the most confusing shell. we see them from start, their eyes say it all. there is no shotage of downpressors. but the more they spit upon me, the sooner i will blossom.

    hold your good friend close, because there are alot of snakes out there.

    or you may ride your tandem home, alone.

    im feeling real positive tonight, rrrrrrreagge

    - - - Updated - - -

    haha and i totally forgot its dolan when a thread is shit. shouldve doland this thread long ago. stupid thread.
     
  18. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    Powers up. No Boot. No BIOS access.

    And yes Jon - clipped in properly ;) :p
     
  19. herojuana

    herojuana hairy kuala

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    948
    Location:
    London/Sheffield
    I'm guessing they are all 4GB each? You need to have the biggest one in the main port

    have you tried with just 3 of the 4 in?
     
  20. $marty

    $marty Dexcell Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18,695
    Likes Received:
    1,930
    Location:
    Watford
    Take a massive shit and forcefeed it into the floppy drive. If there is no floppy drive, try USB 3.0 ports.