First time DJing at a venue?

graffitizax

Hauntr
sup guys i was wondering how you lot started getting booked to play at shows and how your first show got booked/how it went. im fairly new to production but iv been djing for a while and have no idea how to start getting mixes out there and getting asked to play at venues. also would be really interesting to hear some stories of what happened at your first shows, anything go horribly wrong, were you shitting urself? peace

sup guys i was wondering how you lot started getting booked to play at shows and how your first show got booked/how it went. im fairly new to production but iv been djing for a while and have no idea how to start getting mixes out there and getting asked to play at venues. also would be really interesting to hear some stories of what happened at your first shows, anything go horribly wrong, were you shitting urself? peace

ok so this is my point of view - you wont get asked to play at venues, you've got to ask. The biggest thing iv'e learnt over the years is that you get out what you put in - seems pretty obvious and logical but you dont realise at first how much you have to keep circulating your mixes/bugging promoters/getting people to pass on mixes etc. You have to think that if your trying to get a set at a well known/established night theyve already got their residents playing on top of the booked artists which doesn't leave much room for the 'unknown' DJ's for that night, and the popularity of the night will clearly effect the amount of other DJs asking to play sets.