Filtered Reese Filth sound? How can one achieve this.

Discussion in 'Production' started by Filth_Scholar, Nov 28, 2013.

1. Filth_Scholar

Filth_Scholar New Member

Alright people.

Any help on this topic would really help.

This is what I wish to achieve...

I'm not a total noob, I get frequencies and placement in space etc Well at least I think I do.

I'm guessing theres some trick with the cutoff and resonance but wondering if a certain wavetable will emphasise more of the peaks and troughs of the filtered sound.

I'm made a reese type bass but having trouble controlling it as the higher up I play, the quicker the oscillation of the wave causing a wobble effect of which; I have no control! :mad_guy:

Here's what I came up with so far...

Any light on this would be sweet.

VSTi's
    • Massive
    • Sylenth
    • Cyclop
    • Imposcar
    • Razor
    Thanks

Last edited: Dec 18, 2013
  2. Raptor's Den

Raptor's Den Member

Alright buddy! One way to achieve that type of bass sound is as follows.

Osc 1 \
    - One osc is detuned a tad from the other to create natural modulation within your bass!
    Osc 2 /

Now to get those sounds, you can do LOADS of things. One example is Sidechain Compress with a kick that you use the kick to modulate your bass sound instead of a filter. then resample and modify with effects from there!

And keeping in mind to be gentle! These heavy sounds dont come from heavy effecting. They always come from gentle tinkering with your parameters. Its all Sound physics so make it count and right to your efforts!