filter help

Discussion in 'Production' started by co0ke, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. co0ke

    co0ke windowlicker

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    5
    i cant get my head around something...

    i want to do this to my drums over a period of 4 bars, for example before a drop.

    full spectrum of frequencies >> nothing

    starting with the lowest frequencies being removed, then the middle frequencies, and finishing with the highest ones being removed. this would be done in a smooth gradient fashion.

    its in a lot of dnb tracks so hopefully someone will know what im on about

    is there a way to do this without splitting the drum track into a number of different channels and filtering them all seperately? (im using reason)

    cheers
     
  2. Mattix

    Mattix Sub Focus anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Horsham
    I dont use reason mate but why dont you bounce the section of drums you want to filter then put it onto a seperate audio channel and use the filter on that?
     
  3. co0ke

    co0ke windowlicker

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    5
    cos none of the filters in there are giving me what i need. what type filter are you referring to?

    i want to go from the full spectrum of what i have got, to having only the highs/nothing
     
  4. Mattix

    Mattix Sub Focus anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Horsham
    So you want to take out all the low end? Almost like a hi-pass filter? Can you automate the EQ in reason? Thats what i do in Logic.
     
  5. co0ke

    co0ke windowlicker

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    5
    truuuu! ye u can, thats exactly what i need to do - u only get like four parameters for the eq tho so i guess it will be a combination of them - thanks for that tho man!
     
  6. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    add a couple of eq's and automate them to get the wanted effect. stick them thru a bus or something
     
  7. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Yeah I'd say either automate the eq's. Or throw them all on the same channel and automate a hi-pass filter on them
     
  8. druu

    druu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Perth, West Oz
    Autofilter is what I normally use, hi pass then automate the cutoff from low to high on a drum bus.
     
  9. Ketz

    Ketz Thinkin outside the box..

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    if u want to filter ur whole drum channel (sounds like ur talking about a low pass filter) all u gotta do is make sure all ur drums are going thru the same 14:2 mixer (so one shots, dr rex loops, redrums etc etc).

    now create an env filter above ur 14:2 mixer while pressing shift (so it doesn't connect to anything).

    [​IMG]

    flip the rack around by pressing tab and wire the main output of the 14:2 drum mixer into the input of the env filter.

    [​IMG]

    after that all u gotta do is connect the output of the env filter to an input where ur master channel is

    [​IMG]

    now play around with the cut off of ur filter and that will filter the whole group of drums all at once :)

    another way of doing it is to export ur beat (so solo all beat channels) and export what u want - 4bars or whatever then import that wav into an nn19 / nnxt sampler and filter it from there (sometimes better than the method above as u have a wider choise of filters in reason's samplers) you can also try automating the filter mode so flipping between low pass / band pass and hi pass can give you some cool effects on the beat
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
  10. the-rippa

    the-rippa I'll Kill You Bastard !!!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Coventry, England
    Yeah, Frequency & Resonance will do the job.

    Use the Envelope Controlled Filter as shown above...
     
  11. co0ke

    co0ke windowlicker

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    5
    thats what i was doing before but the choice of filters on ecf-42 wasnt given me what i wanted.

    you clearly went to some effort tho man so thanks a lot, really - and im sure other ppl will be helped
     
  12. Ketz

    Ketz Thinkin outside the box..

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    no worries man, as i said if ur looking for more filter options within reason then use the nn19 or nnxt ;)
     
  13. Protoplasym

    Protoplasym Nuskool

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    5
    I assume you have your drums rendered to a single wav..?

    Run that Drum track on a single channel and use a Graphic EQ with at least 10 bands, more if you want to be even more specific with your filter edits.

    Or use a combination of a LPF, then a HPF and automate the cutoffs to roll of the frequencies you desire in the order you desire.
     
  14. Dark_Matter

    Dark_Matter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    the filter on the NN-XT displays frequency range, the only unit in reason that does so

    yet you cant automate any of the parametres in the drop down programmer on XT :confused:

    as far as i know anyways, anyone know a way around this??

    [​IMG]