FFFFFFFFFFFF

Discussion in 'Production' started by Cat Gas, May 17, 2010.

  1. Cat Gas

    Cat Gas Aka Basis

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    London / Leeds
    I'm learning a new DAW. Ableton.

    Just thought I'd vent my frustration.
    I'm not really sure I like it's interface and it's file browser thingy compared to FL9 so far.
     
  2. Indigo

    Indigo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    dude you just gotta keep practicing and getting used to the UI
    ableton have some mega powerful plugins and effects!
    learn how to use both views not just the one , helps loads!
     
  3. subprime

    subprime Dysjoint

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    NZ
    Haha, I remember the feeling when I tried to get into Reaper. I haven't given up, just postponed it for a while and a half. I don't really feel the need, but if you think it's gonna benefit, keep plugging. Damn frustrating tho.
     
  4. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    I love Ableton!

    Took me a while to learn but now I am so glad I put in the effort
     
  5. dexter

    dexter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you stick to it you wont regret it i went from FL to ableton it changed my life haha the sequencer is the fucking best, i personally rarely use session view..
     
  6. Cat Gas

    Cat Gas Aka Basis

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    London / Leeds
    whoahwhoahwhoah.
    I just read I can't use VSTs in Ableton?

    How am I meant to get my basslines?! :|
    Unless I have to make some silly process of making a blank tone in massive as a standalone, export it, and loading it into Simpler...
     
  7. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    That is completely untrue

    You most definitely can use VST's in Ableton
     
  8. richie_stix

    richie_stix gomby plz

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,512
    Likes Received:
    298
    yeah mate... just put a shortvut to the vst in the ableton vst folder i think?

    i've definately got massive to work in ableton, but it ws time ago so can't totally remember :/
     
  9. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    oh i have like like 6 vsts working in ableton

    if you go to options and preferences there is a spot in there to specify the vst folder (where you put all the .dll files)
     
  10. Freek

    Freek Lets get freeeeeeky

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    i tried to do the move from cubase to ableton a few times but it just frustrates me! tbh tho atm i dont see the need to move yet as im confident enuff with cubase and it does what i want. the only problem i find is not being able to put vst effects onto a midi track.
     
  11. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    I tried it once, moving from FL Studio to Reason, but it was a total pain in the ass.
    Nowadays I'm working on FL Studio 9 combined with some aspects from Cubase.

    Gives me the best workflow in combination with my VST plugins.