EQing when resampling/processing

Shy Owl

no GP
I'm quite new to this whole production thing so please excuse my ignorance if this is a simple question, but is it correct to be EQing the bassline each time I process it? That meaning, is there a down side to cutting notches into the bassline through each layer of processing or is this good practice? I assume doing this that each time I reprocess the bassline the notch will get bigger and bigger; so say we cut 100Hz by 2dB 3 times, would that then end up as a 6dB cut? Or is it better to stick to just rolling certain frequencies off during processing and tackle the notches at the end?

Also, when dealing with a Reese (I'm aware not all tracks follow the same EQing rules etc. etc.) I'm finding that it tends to be lacking in one way or another; I've had a look around but can't find much in the way of a breakdown of bass sound (for example, boost x-y to achieve this, cut to achieve this) and was wondering if someone could give me a tip or 2. I usually end up boosting all the lows with notches for kicks etc. but when it comes to 300Hz-1.5kHz I'm lost. I would just play around and find out what works, but I currently only have a pair of ATH M50s to mix on and the only other speakers I currently own are SONOS (which operate via wi-fi so you have to send the audio file to the speaker, meaning I'd have to export every time I wanted to hear my track on them). Long story short, my kick can sound almost as if it's being overpowered at 100Hz on my headphones, then when I play the track on SONOS I find it's punchier than Tyson and the bass is cowering in the background, like it did on this one:

I do realise the bassline in this WIP isn't very well processed at all, but it was really just to get a feel for the variance in the lows between speakers and my headphones.

Like I said, I'm pretty much brand new to this so sorry if this is a stupid question. Thanks for your time.

Last edited: